How to declare independence?

vinnybarb

Chieftain
As the title says...

As I only started playing this game very recently, I am having trouble declaring my Independence. I am playing V1.00 and so far have some 6 small colonies (size 3 or so for a "supposedly" faster declaration) with all colonies showing to wanting already 100% Independence. Yet, my "Declare Independence" button is greyed out and I can not raise the % of people wanting independence to more than 25% after some 170 turns. Why is this so? Logically, if ALL my colonies want 100% independence, where do the "only" 25% of people wanting this to come from when 100% of my people in the colonies do want Independence by 100%? All my people are inside the colonies, none are outside them. Except some colonists are hidden in some ships.

Plus the Kings forces are already having assembled a HUGE force I could never match, let alone possibly win.

Reading through the strategies forum there is also a related question by a poster where the answer was given to why he could not declare Independence as:

I'm guessing that since you unticked "Independance Victory", you cannot declare independance

But in my game's option there is NO such option or box to tick or untick, neither in the current game nor if I start a brand new single game. I am NOT running any mods. What do I do wrong if at all? This is SO frustrating as If I remove some people from the colonies I can see the resentment percentage going up but then I can not produce what I need to produce to be ready should the king attack/invade.

Yet his Forces get build up more and more, which is illogical as reading through the strategy tips, his force is ALWAYS bigger than the colonies's forces. Why?