Immortal AI military overwhelming

gcrockwood

Chieftain
I'm still very new to immortal level, so I'm still getting used to it. The major issue I'm running into is AI military. Even on emperor I was able to easily keep up with the AI military, now I can spam military constantly in every city and remain in last place. War by turn 200 is literally a 100% chance at which point all the AI's turn on me.

I know all the advantages the AI gets at this level, and I'm boggled on how to keep up military-wise.

renton555

Warlord
IMO don't bother trying to "keep up" with AI military. At immortal and deity they spam so many units that it is futile to bother. Just keep an updated ranged unit garrisoning most cities, two for cities in risky areas (also build walls in those), otherwise IMO its not worth the GPT for a standing army unless you are taking cities with that army and getting your money's worth.

Also it can't hurt to keep 1k gold or so to rush buy a couple of units in response to a surprise attack.

Other than that, try to pay more attention to diplomacy and not to piss off the other civs, especially the warlike ones.

Fire0rb

Warlord
Just ignore everything in score but the last on in demographics... you only need to know how good are you doing techwise.
On Immortal and Deity the AI gets absurd bonus to their production and reduced costs for all the units they spam them like crazy.
You just need a good bunch of veterans with massive upgrades to destroy whole armies (normally 10-20 units). You will have much lower "points" in soldiers but have a way more powerful and effective army when the AI sits on unupgraded, unpromoted useless units which give points...

The only good of this statistic is the point that you know who has the most military and with that most likely to attack someone when bribing him ;)