new to colonization

reddishrecue

Some dude on civfans
hello im also kind of new to colonization because i barely got the game off the shelf about a month ago. I got to play a couple of times but found it complicated because it gets hard to get victory off the independence from the motherland especially because of the quantity of troops that the king has. Only way to win for me is on pilgrim.

I just started playing it as well. A few things that might help out against the King's forces:

-Stick to 2 or 3 coastal cities, as the king will focus on these and he can bombard their defenses away. These cities should have decent garrisons of veteran soldiers and hopefully be placed close enough together so that you can place all our dragoons in the middle city and they can attack any troops that land next to your cities. (The FF with the +1 movement to dragoons is pretty useful for this).

-Make sure all you cities are filled with gun and horses, and have some extra trade wagons filled with both to quickly raise an army.

-If the REF is already bigger than your army, it doesn't hurt to hold off on independence to your Rebel Sentiment builds up past 50%. For every percent after that your units get a bonus fighting the king's troops. So if you're really building RS fast at the end, wait a few extra turns and let the king add some more units. You'll just have really insanely promoted units by the time the last 20 units he added are dropped off.

-A decent navy can be a good way to go, especially if you can build up a strong gun/tool economy. It's a 2:1 trade-off but usually by the endgame your coastal cities have nothing better to build and if you really focus on tools and guns you can put the king's invasion to a premature end.