1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Best way to learn?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - General Discussions' started by zalym, Apr 13, 2008.

1. zalym

zalym Chieftain

I'm still new to CIV4 and its expansions, despite having the game for awhile. I've played enough to get the hang of using units/researching etc. but I just haven't played it enough to really take in the game itself. What in-game settings would you suggest as a way to really learn how to play -- not just how to make decisions but why to make those decisions? Is there a good choice of map/climate/difficulty etc. that would be best for this?

I played through my starting games on the easiest level as its suggested but that was about as exciting as watching paint dry and I don't think it helped with teaching me a proper strategy as I know the AI is put at disadvantages at that level. However I don't know if I'd learn too much of anything by getting killed before A.D. either :blush: but I'm certainly willing to try anything once. Thanks for any help you offer.

2. Merkill

Merkill Chieftain

Try starting at noble or even prince but that will hurt a bit :)
    You will learn more from loosing on a har level than winning on a too easy difficulty.

And use the civilopedia on everything new you find.

3. Trumbo

Trumbo Chieftain

Best way to learn is to play and get your nose bloodied a bit. Those are lessons you never forget. You should also take different approaches with each new game, adapting to the starting circumstances. And ramp up the difficulty level a bit. There is no one, overall strategy for winning Civ IV. And there are as many ways to lose as there are to win.

4. glaivemaster

glaivemaster Prince