1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Capture of migrating animals

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by Naokaukodem, Dec 15, 2006.

  1. Naokaukodem

    Naokaukodem Millenary King

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    3,277
    Thinking about what could be Civ5, I saw myself to want some kind of smooth representation of the nature. Among migrating animals.

    Then I thought: could this be a mod for Civ4? Like animal ressources aren't first attached to a tile anymore, until we capture and make a farm to pop up from them like a colony in Civ3 with a worker. Another reference to Civ3 is the slave workers that one could get from a winning battle with a special unit. (I think it was Maya but am unsure) So what about to put such a feature in Civ4, like when a hunter kill an animal, he gets a special one-use unit (worker-like) that would pop a farm up where he desires?

    What do you think?
     
  2. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    I think it could be a Mod... You could have some animals unit (like actual lions, bears, etc) with very little attack points, and when you attack them, you obtain some food for the nearest city...
     
  3. Naokaukodem

    Naokaukodem Millenary King

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    3,277
    Beh... Not really. I mean a unit would be created if you beat the animal, like a slave worker in Civ3. Then, you pop a farm with this new created unit. But now I doubt if this is feasable as ressources are predefined at the start...

    Anyway, the idea was to make the map live, so adding some moving and peacefull animals could add some environment.
     
  4. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    With Python :

    On the event "onUnitKilled", you could get the plot where the unit was killed and use this function : CyPlot.setBonusType(BonusType eNewValue)
     
  5. Naokaukodem

    Naokaukodem Millenary King

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    3,277
    Which translates in? :p
     
  6. Duke176

    Duke176 Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2006
    Messages:
    241
    Location:
    Turin - Italy
    Translation:

    you create an Event "onUnitKill", that after checking "if killed unit = animal", saves the tile where the unit was killed and than, in that plot, you "set-new-bonusType(-from-bonusType eNewValue-list of bonuses-).

    This is the translation:
    check in your EventManager.py inside \...\Python dir (I think it's right) and look how does it works.
    Shouldn't be so hard to create a new unit.
     
  7. Fabrysse

    Fabrysse Charming-snake learner

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2006
    Messages:
    430
    Location:
    Toulouse - France
    "onUnitKilled" = when a unit is killed

    "CyPlot.setBonusType(BonusType eNewValue)" = On a given point of the map, add a bonus of a type.

    You'll have to know a little of python language to translate your idea to be understandable by the computer. :p


    EDIT: Oups ! Duke176 wrote faster than me...
     
  8. Naokaukodem

    Naokaukodem Millenary King

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    3,277
    Well ok but there's a little problem... I can't find the Civ4 editor...? :mischief:
     
  9. ollj

    ollj Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2006
    Messages:
    222
    just find the sticky treads in this subforum
     
  10. Naokaukodem

    Naokaukodem Millenary King

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    3,277
    If I were a programmer, I would not have created this topic in the first place. This topic was open suggestion for modders, now if you're not interested, this is too bad. :( The thing is to know if this is a good idea or not a so good idea...
     
  11. Sarke

    Sarke Warlord

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA, USA
    We have plans to do something similar to this in our Post Apocolyptic mod...basicly you have to fight the animals and capture them...then they create a unit that can settle into a unit... we are also going to make it so if you raze the tile the razing civ gets a new unit of the same type (stealing the herd so to speak)... it's a great idea :)...
     
  12. Naokaukodem

    Naokaukodem Millenary King

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    3,277
    Thanks for the note. Yeah it's great, especially for the graphics: having animal wandering on the map would be very relaxing to me, I want it from a certain time already. Plus if we can interact with them, it's cool.
     

Share This Page