1. Firaxis celebrates the "Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage Month", and offers a give-away of a Civ6 anthology copy (5 in total)! For all the details, please check the thread here. .
    Dismiss Notice

Civ color

Discussion in 'Civ3 - Creation & Customization' started by Steph, Dec 19, 2008.

  1. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE
    I have a question regarding civ colors.

    They are located in arts\units\palette.

    There are several files here (32) each image is "empty" except it contains a palette.

    Question 1: what is the use of the otp files? I thought onlyt the ntp files were useful.

    Question 2: in these files, what is the palette that defines the color as it should appear in the editor, civilization page?
    I want to have this color loaded dynamically in the editor.

    I suppose it is index 6 in the palette (starting at 0).

    I'm wondering what would happen if we add a ntp32.pcx file in this folder... Of course, the editor allows only 32 colors. So it can't be used... But suppose an editor would be able to handle more files, and to save it in the file... Would the game be able to load a 33rd color? I'll let you know tomorrow ;)
     
  2. BadKharma

    BadKharma Deity

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2005
    Messages:
    3,692
    Location:
    Brew City
    Actually it is not empty, the file is only 1 pixel x 1 pixel zoom waaaaaayyyyyy in.
    Here is one at 3200% zoom.



    On the opt files I have no idea, if you replace the npt files with custom ones you get custom colors for your civ's.
    From Rhye
     
  3. Optional

    Optional Deity

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,935
    Location:
    It Dockumer Lokaeltsje
    I don't understand much of it myself, but Rhye once posted a tutorial - it probably says a few things BadKharma already pointed out, but it might be a bit broader:
     
  4. Optional

    Optional Deity

    Joined:
    May 22, 2007
    Messages:
    2,935
    Location:
    It Dockumer Lokaeltsje
    Well, I pushed a wrong button, and now I can't upload it again, of course *sigh*, not even when I give it a different name. You might want to look at Rhye's thread; the tutorial is still there.
    EDIT: it's here after all, great! Forget this particular post.
     
  5. Steph

    Steph Multi Many Tasks man Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2002
    Messages:
    18,162
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Pont de l'Arn, FRANCE

Share This Page