1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Civilization III Advanced Tips

Discussion in 'Civ3 - General Discussions' started by Kurgan117, Nov 19, 2015.

  1. agonistes

    agonistes wants his subs under ice!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,507
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vermont
    I don't. Its just my personal mod, and I often don't bother with the pedia stuff when I add improvements. Although lately I have been starting to build up civopedia additions in case I ever post it. Just added Terracotta Army as a wonder, builds ancient pikeman, and a unique longbow for the English (engineering) and quarrellist for the Chinese (warrior code), with Sandris units. And I used some of the greek's wonder art for a few wonders recently - (Reign of Terror, Venetian Arsenal, and Hagia Sophia).

    Also added in Amundsen's Expedition with combustion, adds +2 ship movement. With 32 civs, and world map, I like having a few fast navies around, so the Colossus and Lighthouse add +1 movement, Odyssey, Magellan's, and Amundsen's add +2.

    I've slowed the tech pace down a bit, as someone pointed out on one of my as-always-unfinished stories that the tech pace of my games was insanely fast, so I added in some improvements to give you something to build other than units.

    Obelisk - for quick culture boost
    Tradepost - quick cash; required for Marketplace.
    Slave Labor - +25% industry, but two unhappy faces (obsolete with Emancipation - formerly known as the Printing Press). Required for Plantation - cash boost, one unhappy face, obsolete with Emancipation.
    Harbor - (+1 food in water; required for Port (with Map Making, adds +1 food/shield to water, and water trade)
    And you still have the Barracks of course.

    Yes, the civs build the Obelisks. Some civs. Some civs are culture crazy, some don't give a rat's hind end about it. I think its the expansion trait, but not sure. The Obelisk is flagged for every trait though.

    I don't allow culture flipping as I play a status-quo style usually, and having culture flips everywhere is a real pain. The Obelisk is intended to prevent overcrowding, as is the culture boost I put on the palace. They work as intended for the most part, although the eastern reaches of Russia get a bit chaotic if you don't play as Russia (and Russia doesn't start with 40+ cities, ha ha.)

    I've removed or replaced most of the improvements/wonders from the later game, as, really, what's the point? Labs? Even in the third age, I only have Amundsen's, Hoover Dam, Steyr Machine Works (+2 production - my factories and plant only give +1), Reign of Terror (builds Line Infantry), The Kremlin and Tiananmen Square (both communism gov required) that each give +2 free techs (so Russia and China can have a chance at quick tech boosts). Oh, and World Trade Center. Nothing in the 4th age I believe, for wonders.

    A nice cultural expanse is also good once attack units can move 3 squares. Having that third row is great for planting trees if you need to slow down tanks, or remove forests if you'd rather have the enemy in nice and close for easy bombing/artillery.

    One interesting change I just made is pre-adding forts to the world map. I noticed (as you all probably have) that the AI never ever ever builds forts. Which annoys me, 'cause I hate being the only guy in town that builds forts. It makes the map look weird, and feels like cheating. So I pre-placed about, hmmm, maybe a 100 forts in interesting/key places. Looks much better, the AI does often use them, and ... I spend time tearing down forts on land I've acquired. But its a positive change over all. Anyone have a way to make military engineers that will build forts?

    Going back to the Army thing, I just checked a few cities, and the 3 I checked (Austria, Germany, and Italy) had 2 armies or more in their capital, waiting for war to break out.

    Ending with a quick question: how do you delete saved games? where are the files stored? I can see the auto save folder, but not the other saves.
     
  2. walletta

    walletta King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    I still can't get my crusaders to build forts. Was that really true that they can do that?
     
  3. Theov

    Theov Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,222
    Location:
    Taiwan
    they should be able to :confused:
     
  4. justanick

    justanick Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,188
    Location:
    Germany
    The autosave older is contained in the Saves folder which by default contains the regular savegames. That folder is contained in your Conquests folder which is contained in your Civilization III folder.
     
  5. agonistes

    agonistes wants his subs under ice!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,507
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vermont
    The autosave folder is empty. So where the heck are my saves going?
     
  6. Theov

    Theov Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,222
    Location:
    Taiwan
    search for "autosave" when you're in the civ3 folder.
     
  7. Civinator

    Civinator Blue Lion Supporter

    Joined:
    May 5, 2005
    Messages:
    7,090
    Gender:
    Male
    This could be a problem of your current version of windows. Per exyample with Win7 the saves are not in the folder of the Civ 3 save-files, but in a folder that version of windows installs parallel to the save-folder in a registry that in German is called "Kompatibilitätsdateien". Here evrything is restored, that was changed from the original installation - including your save- and autosave-files. The files in that folder permanently overwrite the changed files in the original folder.

    I don´t know the English word for "Kompatibilitätsdateien", but I temporary attache a screenshot, where this folder can be found. In Win 7, go to the folder where your Ciiv 3 is installed and click on the registry I have marked in red. In that registry go to the folder Saves. That folder also includes another folder containing your autosaves.

     
  8. Kurgan117

    Kurgan117 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Thanks everyone for all off your help. I may be starting another post soon, and I hope to see your advice on it.
     
  9. walletta

    walletta King

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    685
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    And now they can. In truth, they probably always could but their divine leader was too stupid to locate the button :(
     
  10. Theov

    Theov Deity

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,222
    Location:
    Taiwan
    I imagine you telling the screen "build a for" "crusader, build a fort" "crusader build fort" "crusader build a fortress" "....please?"
     
  11. Kurgan117

    Kurgan117 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2015
    Messages:
    67
    Make sure advanced unit actions is turned on in the preferences for the Crusader issue. Not sure if it will help but just thought.
     

Share This Page