Does anybody know computer code?

jdurg

Warlord
I went and installed the Python 2.4.2 shell on my computer, and it now allows me to see into the .py files in the Python directories in the main Civilization 4 directory. I can't believe how much of the code for this game is contained right in the installation folder! I'm currently looking through the python files for the wonder movies to see if I can find ANYTHING that would indicate why the movies are playing so poorly. I figure that if I can figure out what could be causing the problems, we might be able to discover a fix for it. :D

The .py files are in plain text, you don't need to have Python installed to read (or change) them. :)

I'm not sure whether the reason for the choppy movies can be found in the Python code. I think it's more likely a core issue, having to do with to many processes going on and not stopping while the movie plays. But I may be mistaken of course. I'm no programmer unfortunately.

I think the movies are played by Bink which is not in the python.

I found that i had to update my drivers, and/or turn the graphics level down to properly run the wonder movies.

Python is a glue language. It's usually used to hook together the core components, which are probably done in C++ or similar. The movies will run slow for one of two reasons:

1. It's simply a graphics issue, something to do with your video card. This would be my guess.

2. The game is doing a lot of background processing, like still running the AI while running the movie. This would be simply ******ed, but I have been generally unimpressed with the requirements of the game. For a non-graphical game, to have the minimum setting require a fairly new video card is silly; give me the Civ3 graphics engine over the Civ4 game and I'll be happy.