1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

[BNW] [HELP] Creating a custom Tech Tree

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Creation & Customization' started by Harkodos, Jan 2, 2018.

  1. Harkodos

    Harkodos Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    178
    I'm currently in the process of creating a custom Tech Tree for personal use. The Tech Tree is fully fledged-out and completed, but I whenever I boot up a game with it, the game will crash after a few turns after seemingly nothing is wrong (it always crashes when the AI does something during it's turn, possibly having something to do with Ancient Ruins, even though I didn't touch those; regardless, that may be a clue).

    I've included my custom Tech Tree in a Zip file. If anyone can help me figure out this problem, I'd really appreciate it.
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Troller0001

    Troller0001 Not an actual Troll

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    732
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Try setting up a game without Ancient Ruins (disable them in the setup screen). If the issue does not persist, then we know for sure that Ancient Ruins are the actual problem.
     
  3. Harkodos

    Harkodos Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    178
    I just tested it without the Ancient Ruins and the result was the same, so it definitely wasn't that. Seems to be something with the AI's behavior. Perhaps when the AI discovers one of the techs for whatever reason?
     
  4. LeeS

    LeeS Imperator

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    6,635
    Location:
    Illinois, USA
    Is it occuring on turn 10 or 20 ?

    There is a victory test done on either turn 10 or turn 20 (I cannot remember which turn William Howard said the test was performed on) which will often cause CTD when the AI or the game is not able to "handle" what has been done by a mod.
     
  5. Harkodos

    Harkodos Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    178
    It typically occurs around turn 2~4. The game rarely lasts more turns than that. Usually after I've met at least one civ (of 4 total when I'm playing on a Duel map, though I doubt that has much to do with it).
     
  6. Harkodos

    Harkodos Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    178
    I seemed to have fixed the problem. Removing any of the actual re-integrations of the existing Technologies seemed to have worked.

    In other words, I changed the definitions of the game files into Update tags, modifying the Tech's Cost and Grid positions and removed most of the Delete tags I used save for the TechPrereq tags. So now the code works fine, no more random crashes 2~4 turns in. Thanks for the assistance, regardless though. I'll be sure to use Updates more often when reassigning things already defined in the game's code.
     

Share This Page