i have had many problems!!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Technical Support' started by X sheehan C, Nov 11, 2005.

  1. X sheehan C

    X sheehan C Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    i have had many probelms with civ4(black terrian)... what is a good graphic card that i should have... and how do i check wat kind of i have?
     
  2. lionhead

    lionhead Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Ask it to the comp. There is a roster of a microphone at the back, ask the question there and wait for a response.
     
  3. X sheehan C

    X sheehan C Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    wat? i dont get wat u mean
     
  4. Bayazid I

    Bayazid I Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2005
    Messages:
    32
    he's kidding, it seems like it might be a while yet before we determine what works best with this game, i'd wait until after the first patch comes out... then come back and poll the members later... I have a 128 MB radeon 9600 XT for instance, not new, but it shouldn't be as slow as it is on the lowest resolution, with no anti-aliasing... some people have problems with better cards, some people that have "worse" cards than mine claim that the game is blazing on their systems... in sum... the jury is out...
     
  5. X sheehan C

    X sheehan C Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    ^^ ok thanx, how long do u think it will be untill the new patch comes out? and do u think i should go out and buy a new card?
     
  6. lionhead

    lionhead Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    26
    Beep, Beep, Beep, Beep.

    I'm sorry, i was just being an ass. But your question seemed very unclear.

    if you have too much money you should always buy the latest Video card.
     
  7. X sheehan C

    X sheehan C Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    no the thing is i dont have enough money and im wondering how much money to save up. i dont no any thing about this but... is 50$, 100$, 150$ enough? im looking for bare minimum here... help me plz!??
     
  8. dosage0

    dosage0 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    55
  9. panza105

    panza105 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    12
    Acording to Take2 should be out next week. they are working on the problem as we read.
     
  10. X sheehan C

    X sheehan C Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    ok so wat is the patch ganna be about? what is it going 2 fix? will it solve the black terrain problem???
     
  11. X sheehan C

    X sheehan C Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    ok so wat is the patch ganna be about? what is it going 2 fix? will it solve the black terrain problem???
     
  12. dosage0

    dosage0 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    Go here:

    http://www.lavalys.com/

    download home edition... click on the video card area and it will tell you what you have. Its probably old and doesnt support the newer graphics code that Civ is trying to run. Buy a new card... the one mentioned up top.

    A patch isnt going to fix the black terrain because the game is still going to be written the same way.

    Just IMO though.

    Rob
     
  13. X sheehan C

    X sheehan C Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    49
    6600GT

    ^^ umm, im not 2 good with video cards... when i go out and buy it do i look just for that, or a name
     
  14. dosage0

    dosage0 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    55
    go to www.newegg.com

    You'll get a MUCH better price than any "Best Buy" you walk into. Type in 6600GT and buy whichever one you want. They are all made pretty much exactly the same way and all will perform the same. You could go for the cheapest, or find one that bundles some games you might want with it.
     

Share This Page