1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Mac and the Community Patch?

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Macintosh' started by Quindorrian, Jun 3, 2016.

  1. beetle

    beetle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,779
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Alan, thanks for the exposition.
     
  2. jbos

    jbos Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Well, you could use Bootcamp and carve out a Windows partition on your mac.
    https://www.apple.com/support/bootcamp/

    Now, that means owning a copy of Windows, and rebooting into windows when you want to play Civ (or other windows-only games). This would perform far better than trying to run the Windows version in Wine, VMware fusion, or parallels.

    Note, this won't work with the app store version. You would need to own a version (e.g. the steam version) where you can install the windows copy.
     
  3. beetle

    beetle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2004
    Messages:
    5,779
    Location:
    Frederick, MD
    Many Mac owners are happy to use Boot Camp to run Windows games. For some of us though, that just makes no sense at all. Might as well buy an Xbox or something at that point.
     
  4. bayonetbrant

    bayonetbrant Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    The whole point - as noted several times above - was to figure out a way to do this without having a Windows copy of the game.

    We all know you could just dual-boot, but that's not what we were asking. :king:
     
  5. StapledBattery

    StapledBattery Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2018
    Messages:
    2
    You can run the Windows version of Civ V with WINE on Mac quite easily. (You won't have DX11 support, so your graphics performance will be quite limited unfortunately.)
     

Share This Page