Need help for setting up a unit production and maintenance related trait modifier

cool3a2

Deity
Hope there is someone out there who can help me with this. First of all, I'd like to point out that I am working on my problem since days now, but although being a software developer myself, I am just unable to get it done. So, please beware, that I may sound a bit annoyed when writing this - as I am actually annoyed...

I believe that I got the basics of modding modifiers and I definitely have no difficulties with the used technologies. At least, I was able to add a working modifier for one of my leaders to raise science output and give culture output of libraries. What I'd like to mod in for my civilization trait modifier are two things:
  • Provide a modifier to lower production costs (or raise production points) for certain units in all cities, preferably only when at war (if possible, only when the player is attacked, a defensive war in other words).
  • Provide another modifier to lower the maintenance cost for the same set of units. Or alternatively, provide a discount for those units.
As these two things are pretty independent from each other, I'll describe them separately.

To ease reading the examples a little, I'd like to add that the modifier is called Pro Libertate! and should affect most land units, besides of nukes, aircraft and siege weapons (maybe some more I may not have thought about yet). I will simplify the exercise by limiting this on a single unit per modifier.

Setting up the production modifier

I think that this should by the easier part, at least, when ignoring the requirement for firing only when at war, which we will do for now.

So, I found the modifier called MODIFIER_PLAYER_CITIES_ADJUST_UNIT_TAG_ERA_PRODUCTION. This one is already used, for example for the vikings leader and for multiple policies. All I need to do is change the units and era affected, so let's go. This is my modifier:
Code:
    <Modifiers>
        <Row>