1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

New to Modding

Discussion in 'CivBE - Modding Help & Mod Creation' started by Tyrnan, Oct 24, 2014.

  1. Tyrnan

    Tyrnan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Hello there,

    I am new to this forum, but I really enjoy the Civilization series. I am here today because I would like to ask for some assistance regarding instructions on how to create my own civilization for Civ: BE. I have downloaded the SDK and Shell files, but am a little bit lost as to where to go from there. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Additionally are there an extensions I should consider. Thanks in advance for any replies!

    -Tyrnan
     
  2. darthtoon

    darthtoon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2014
    Messages:
    27
    the game came out earlier today, so it will be a while before the players figure the game code out for the mods.
     
  3. Stephan Reiken

    Stephan Reiken Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Depends on how good you are at figuring stuff out and how familiar you already are with scripting and coding.

    Much of the information for Civ 5 modding will work or be close to BE modding. Downloading other people's mods and seeing what is in the files can also help you figure out what works. It is not an easy thing to do at first, especially as BE just came out and everyone has to figure everything out by trial and error.
     
  4. Bobert13

    Bobert13 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2013
    Messages:
    340
    The modsplosion is coming sooner than you think...

    Under the hood, everything I've looked at so far (on the Lua side of things at least) is extremely similar to ciV. Copy Pasta EVERYWHERE!. Terran.lua is like a 85% match to Continents.lua and the only reason it's not higher is because they removed all the code pertaining to natural wonders...
     
  5. chrissifniotis

    chrissifniotis GoogleCiv 2.0.0 coming...

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2009
    Messages:
    639
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    :evil:Necropost!:evil:

    I'm about to begin work on my very first mod, is there any difference between Civ V and BE code?
     

Share This Page