1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Now I get the Steam Haters

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by gzollinger, Oct 26, 2010.

  1. gzollinger

    gzollinger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    I couldn't understand what the big deal was with all the hating on steam. What is the big deal I thought....Until tonight.

    I have been trying to play the stinking game and have been getting a server busy when trying to download the patch. This has been going on for 30 minutes without success. I am right in the middle of a great game, and I can't play. The sad thing is I don't even care about the patch, I was enjoying it just fine last night without it. Seems like I should be able to skip that stinking patch if no servers are available, but I can't see how.

    Anyone out there know how to get past the patch and still play the game.
     
  2. Serenya

    Serenya Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    39
    Assuming your save is on your desktop not the cloud, you should be able to just close steam and play as normal. The only issue I can see is if the patch is partially there, but it should be downloaded to a temp folder and then installed if they did it 'properly'
     
  3. Maniacal

    Maniacal the green Napoleon

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18,778
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    Weird, I've only ever had a problem with really slow downloads when the patches are really big. Did you try restarting Steam or changing download regions?

    You can right click on Civilization V in the list and go to Poperties to disable automatic updating.
     
  4. Cinderspark

    Cinderspark Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Location:
    Adelaide, South Australia
    Mate, I have been trying to play for over 24 hours with no success. "Servers are busy, try again in a few minutes." What's the point of buying the DLC if it precludes me from accessing my own game? Offline mode doesn't work so I am pretty much boned until steam decides I am allowed to launch.

    I had the same problem after getting the retail CD. Wouldn't install from the physical media at all, even though I pointed directly to it when executing the install as per support instructions. Took a few days before I found it D\Ling the entire game around 3am.

    What a STEAMing pile of crap this system is!
     
  5. Varelse

    Varelse Rabble Rouser

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    377
    You better hurry up and win that game before the patch is fully downloaded. Old saves don't work with the new patch....and the new patch downloads and installs automatically!
     
  6. gzollinger

    gzollinger Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2002
    Messages:
    24
    Oh man, tell me that isn't true! I was up till 3:00 this morning, and I leave for work at 6:00.
     
  7. lietkynes

    lietkynes Hello sword !

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    883
    Location:
    Rome
    You can't while Steam is in online mode. But you probably can if you restart Steam in offline mode.

    About your problem: open Steam, go to Stram > Settings > Downloads and check that "Download Region" is set correctly.
     
  8. Igmod

    Igmod Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2001
    Messages:
    48
    This worked for me! I'm in US Central and chose Paris. Worked.
     
  9. zonk

    zonk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    572
    Unplug your connection entirely. If you're running through a router, disable your adapter. Cable modem - unplug it. DSL - unplug it.

    You have to convince Steam that there's no possibility of connecting.
     
  10. lietkynes

    lietkynes Hello sword !

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    883
    Location:
    Rome
    It's not true, I am happily continuing my games.
     
  11. DGMan

    DGMan Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2010
    Messages:
    49
    I'm thinking he's talking about the 1.0.0.621 hotfix that was just released that fixes the old saves issue introduced in 1.0.0.62
     
  12. zonk

    zonk Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2005
    Messages:
    572
    Oh - and BTW -

    Add your voice to the general Steam thread, because there are multiple people that are completely convinced that internet connectivity issues are don't happen to anyone anymore :lol:
     
  13. Varelse

    Varelse Rabble Rouser

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    377
    Hmmmmm. it hasn't worked for me. The new hot fix patch downloaded when I started steam and I still can't load my old savegames.

    This auto-download of patches makes it tough to play a long game over a period of time.
     
  14. Doskias51

    Doskias51 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2010
    Messages:
    63
    Location:
    VIDOR, TX, USA
    I have had problems with the same thing several times with the first patch and the dlc both did it. Every time Steam has a brain fart all i have to do is delete the file named "ClientRegistry.blob" in the main directory and restart steam and it works like a charm every time.

    It happens when steam itself tries to update sometimes. Anytime you cant get it to update something or it says servers unavailable 9 times out of ten if you delete that file it will login in and start any update that it got hung up on. It has only done this when it there is a patch, not even when it downloads it per say even before it starts it has done this. Who knows why Steam is so finicky with updates but had to do it atleast 4 times since ciV has come out.
     
  15. Maniacal

    Maniacal the green Napoleon

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    18,778
    Location:
    British Columbia, Canada
    Nice, glad it worked :)
     
  16. TimB

    TimB Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2003
    Messages:
    3
    So turn it off I believe it's - Right click the game on steam > chose show properties > go to update tab > select do not keep this game upto date
     

Share This Page