Some questions for a civ first timer...

viciouspjurahead

Chieftain
Hey all, while I am new to the civ games I am playing and learning as I go but I have some questions that I've noticed along the way. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Also, to learn should I just go on the Civilization wiki and just go step by step as I play?

1. Great People - What is the benefit of moving them around?
2. Why do new cities that you settle have such long production times?
3. Civics tree/tech tree - What is the strategy if you wind up just doing all of them anyway? Any specific order? Or does it depend on your leader and what your overall goal is?
4. What does "to boost" mean? Is this something you gain once you complete production of it?

Any and all help would be greatly appreciated!

Every unit and building has a fixed production cost. You're construction time is equal to that production cost divided by the amount of production your city produces. For instance, a monument costs 60 production and it takes 20 turns for a city with Three production per turn to build it. (60/3 = 20). Your Capital City also has a unique palace building which provides +3 production, which it why you can construct buildings more rapidly in your Capital during the early game.

Great People can only be triggered on certain tiles, so moving around your Great People might save you time If your great person spawned far away from where you'd like to use him/her.

For the tech tree, do whatever suits your needs the most. For the Civics Tree, it's more linear: Focus on Early Empire and if you went Religion, then Theology, then Feudalism and Mercenaries.

Eureka's and Inspirations are halve the research time of their Tech/Civic once you've completed a certain parameter (unique for every tech or civic). The Chinese get a 60% reduction. Once this parameter has been met, you "boost" the technology, instantly finishing half its cost.