SQL and/or XML and/or LUA ?

richardsvensson

Chieftain
Hello everyone,

I'm just learning how to mod civ vi, (I haven't really been modding any previous versions of Civ) so I need a short introduction to the relationship between SQL, XML and LUA.

I have been able to make a few changes to the game with SQL scripts, and some time ago I also made a few changes by editing XML files. So far I have no experience of LUA.

My question is not how to learn these things, but rather how they relate to each other? Can I do all the modding with just one of them (and it's more a matter of taste which one I choose)? Or should I use a combination? Maybe some parts of the mod is done with SQL scripts and other parts by editing an XML-file?

Thanks!

XML, SQL, and LUA: The Differences
(this info is true for both Civ5 and Civ6)​

1. The game has a database of information that defines Civics/Policies, Techs, Civilzations, Units, etc.
  2. This database is really just text entries in what is very like a spreadsheet of rows and columns (this is where <Row> in xml comes from)
  3. SQL and XML add new information to or alter existing information within the database. XML is often seen as easier to understand for beginners. But other than the fact that SQL can do a few things XML cannot, and that SQL can allow dynamically reading what is already added to the database before "deciding" whether to make a change to the database, the two languages (XML and SQL) are essentially just different flavors for adding to or altering what is already there in the database from the game's Firaxis-supplied files.
  4. This is true even though XML and SQL make use of differing syntax. They are both just methods to write to the same database.
  5. LUA however is a completely different animal.
    • It has its own language
    • while it can freely read from data in the game's database, it has only limited capability to alter what already exists within the game's database