Colonialism for ToT?

ElBiotipo

Chieftain
Hi! I'm new to the forum, but I've been playing Civ2 ever since I was a kid, and I've been tinkering with scenarios for almost as long too. I've never made anything too concrete, but it's just so relaxing to edit scenarios when I'm bored. And it's amazing to see all the new features allowed by ToT!

I've been brainstorming an update to the Colonialism scenario (you can find it here) which I don't believe has a ToT conversion yet! Since I'm not very good at editing with ToT (in fact I don't know how to make the conversion), most of these ideas are just that, though I might test them in the MGE version and see what happens!
  • The whole trade thing never worked well in single player. I've been thinking into adding "rare resources" units and tribal villages instead. The second could give you minor gold and mostly be an annoyance to prevent (or maybe encourage in the AI case) your expansion. The first would be the gold, spices, etc. the Europeans looked for, and would be a major prize to get. Gold would be hard to get it otherwise.
  • You would also get huge rewards by conquering native cities, particulary Asian trade ports, which would be the hardest to crack.
  • Maybe the AI could get a little assistance with events spawning colonists and conquerors in historical places, like the Dutch in New Amsterdam or the Spanish in the relatively remote Rio de La Plata. The Minor European civilization that has no colonists of their own could also have their own little colonies (like New Sweden)
Which reminds me, the 1500s were the age of the Reformation and religious wars in Europe, and I would like to represent that somehow. I think there would be a fun challenge to the Habsburg civ not to only ensure dominance in the colonies but also in Europe and the HRE. I've thought of some alternatives: