Prize Ships promotion of the Sea Beggars. Anyone encountered any problems?

saamohod

Deity
Before I report it to the GitHub I want to gauge other people's experience.

It's my first time playing as the Dutch in years. Their unique promotion of the Sea Beggar that allows to capture enemy ships doesn't work with me. It did work precisely one time when I hit a barbarian galleass as soon as Sea Beggars appeared and since then I haven't captured a single enemy ship ever. There were many sea battles with the ships of that specific promotion, but it never fired.

What makes me suspect that it's a bug (or mod conflict) is that sometimes when I destroy an enemy ship with my Sea Beggar (or an upgraded ship), my ship doesn't move into the tile but behaves like a ranged attack, i.e. the enemy ship goes "puff" and disappears, but my attacking ship doesn't move into the tile.

20230413215511_1.jpg

Last edited:
That's a bug, it's already fixed for the next version. You've guessed correctly that when the sea beggar doesn't move to the new tile, it tries to capture the enemy ship that was there.

this should fix it
It's probably got to do with my potato laptop, but this fix seems to significantly slow down the AI turns. Especially when an AI is at war, it may take longer than a minute for an AI to make up its mind and start moving units.
Been playing this mod on my current laptop for a year now and never had this problem. The AI turn times definitely worsened in for the low-end computers.

The fix is only a very minor change to the capturing logic, it can't be the reason for performance issues. They must be caused by something else.

The fix is only a very minor change to the capturing logic, it can't be the reason for performance issues. They must be caused by something else.
I see. It must be the issue with 3.3.1.