Why aren't my AI foes expanding their territory?

tyrudo

Chieftain
Hi there, fellow Civ addicts,

I've been playing Civ forever, and finally put down IV for V a few months ago, loved it, then bought the two major expansions/ all other updates that came with the steam total package. I'm a big fan of everything they add, except for one major detraction- all of the sudden, the worlds aren't getting settled. I'll play all the way into the information age, finally reveal the full map, and immediately want to quit when I see that almost all of the (extremely fertile/valuable) land around my AI opponents' civs is wide open. What's going on? Is this supposed to be a fix? In all previous iterations of Civ, the map gets completely filled out, generally pretty early on, which sets the stage for all the conflicts that play out. Now, there's little incentive to go to war with another civ, to trade with them, to interact with them much at all. And it doesn't make sense! It's the year 2040, why are there still barbarian encampments everywhere and unclaimed territory?

I'd really like to hear from you guys on two points:

1: Which expansion or update made this change, and can it be undone without losing features I like? (Does anyone know of a steam workshop mod, for example?)
2: Do you see this as a positive thing? I'm totally flabbergasted as to who would want this. I'd love to hear your take on why it's good.

Thank you!

I`ve seen that happen in BNW standalone, not to mention AI not being aggressive enough. I would also recommend getting G&K dlc along with BNW and for a better challange playing at least on Emperor.

Hope this helps...

BNW seemed to reduce early game aggression quite a bit. GNK you could expect early DOW pretty much every game above King.