Why do the franchise's veterans love Alpha Centauri ?

Magean

Prince
Hi,

I'm relatively new to the Civ franchise, having only started playing with Civ IV BTS.
I've often seen SMAC referred to as the jewel of the series, even more so now that BE has been announced.

So I'd like to know, why do you rusty veterans love Alpha Centari so much ? When I read your posts, it seems to me that this game had both a genius' gameplay, and an extremely convincing background universe.

Could you please tell me more ? And do you think Firaxis is trying to revive the venerable ancestor with Civ : BE ?

Thanks for your answers

EDIT : I hadn't seen this article ( http://www.rockpapershotgun.com/2014/05/20/civilization-beyond-earth-impressions-interview/ ), on the relationship between BE and SMAC, yet the question of the success of SMAC remains...

SMAC has a lot of things going for it. I would recommend grabbing it off of gog.com and seeing for yourself.

If you want my opinion, though, a couple of things stand out:

1. It treats complex and controversial moral questions in a way that encourages the player to think about them. The faction leaders play an important role, with their quotes for techs, buildings, and projects presenting contradictory visions of what the future of humanity should be and the player left to decide who, if anyone, is right.

2. Social engineering (basically, a more modular approach to Civ IV's civics) was a massive leap forward from Civ II's system of choosing your government from a list, and the way that different options interact with each other and with each faction's bonuses and penalties remains a high point in the series.

Alpha Centauri had *weight* to it -- between the awesome videos and the awesome sound files, you got the sense of a distinct world.

Ignore the horrible background music and have fun:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U_hrYz_2uAk

Listen to his description of the Genejack, starting at 49 seconds ...