A few quick questions on modding

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by Grishnash, Aug 29, 2007.

  1. Grishnash

    Grishnash Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Varrock :P
    Hi all. ;)
    I was wondering, where is the text for promotes? I can't seem to find them.
    And how can I get to the anime for the tower when you get raider?(Or at least some times get shows up.)
    And how can I get rid of the impassable text it shows over mountains? I want to make it so some units can go over them, I can make it that can, but the text is still there!
    Where are the unit classes? I looked for them but I couldn't find them.
    Can I make a building that gives def towards gun units? Cuz so far no building ccan do that.
    Thats all for now. Thanks :goodjob:
     
  2. CCJ39

    CCJ39 M-o-d-d-i-n-g Deity

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2002
    Messages:
    686
    Location:
    Munich, Germany
    it's in "Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Assets\XML\Text\CIV4GameTextInfos.xml" (BtS only includes the additional and modified text, so you need to get the text sometimes from vanilla Civ4)


    look at "Sid Meier's Civilization 4\Beyond the Sword\Assets\XML\Units\CIV4UnitClassInfos.xml" ;)


    not with the default-settings, but it should be possible with combination of XML and Python...
     
  3. Grishnash

    Grishnash Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Varrock :P
    Thanks! I found them :)



    Umm... I don't have BtS. And I looked in UnitClassInfos of warlords but what I want isn't there. I'm trying to add/edit unit classes like gun and heilcopter.



    Oh, okay. Thanks.

    Oh, do you(or anyone) know how to get the xml(or whatever) for the Siege Tower that sometimes appear when you attack a city with the raider promotion? :goodjob:
     
  4. snarko

    snarko DLLer

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2003
    Messages:
    1,512
    Location:
    Sweden
    You mean unitCOMBATS? They are (for warlords/vanilla) in CIV4BasicInfos.xml.
     
  5. Grishnash

    Grishnash Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Varrock :P
    Oh... (Didn't know that) Okay, thanks.

    Does anyone know about the Siege Tower? I really want to look into it.
    Oh, and I'm having Problems making promotions for peaks and desert and ice, I don't how to get their def and doble move to work, little help?

    And how can I make peaks passable?

    Thanks.
     
  6. Grishnash

    Grishnash Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Varrock :P
    Okay, I got the desert and Ice Promotions to work, but the peaks are harder. I don't think they count as terrain-?

    I tryed to make iron, gold, coal, etc, pop up on them but so far I havn't seen any. And I tired to make mines be able to be built on them but only roads will go.
    Any idea?
     
  7. Seras

    Seras BuildingMonger

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    228
    the siege tower is just an extra animation...it has no gameplay effect/presence

    as for making peaks passable: each unit has a <bCanMoveImpassable> value in CIV4UnitInfos.xml
     
  8. Grishnash

    Grishnash Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Varrock :P
    I just want to see if I can edit to and make it a tank or something, can it be done?

    I saw and thats what i'm doing now, but workers can't built on them, and they still say impassable and they don't give def and promotions don't work with them. All these things I'm trying to get done:(
     
  9. Seras

    Seras BuildingMonger

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    228
    those are both things that can only be changed with the SDK i believe.
     
  10. matthewv

    matthewv Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2004
    Messages:
    1,007
    Location:
    BC, Canada
    In the SDK the code the determines whether or not a terrain type is impassable automatically sets the terrain to impassible for peaks instead of reading whether or not the terrain is impassible according to the terrain infos XML like all other terrain or feature types.
    In CvPlot.cpp you will find this code:

    Code:
    bool CvPlot::isImpassable() const
    {
    	if (isPeak())
    	{
    		return true;
    	}
    
    	if (getTerrainType() == NO_TERRAIN)
    	{
    		return false;
    	}
    
    	return ((getFeatureType() == NO_FEATURE) ? GC.getTerrainInfo(getTerrainType()).isImpassable() : GC.getFeatureInfo(getFeatureType()).isImpassable());
    }
    
    delete or comment out this code and peaks should act like normal terrain (I did not test it out to see if it works):
    Code:
    	if (isPeak())
    	{
    		return true;
    	}
     
  11. Grishnash

    Grishnash Mad Scientist

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    446
    Location:
    Varrock :P
    Thanks. I'll give it a shot. :D

    New Question: Where do I go to change walls from saying they don't give def towards gunpowder units? Thanks! :OP
     

Share This Page