Better AI vs. Science frenzy?

skallben

Diplomat
I recently started playing Civ again, now for the first time with 2.08. The changes to the AI have results that are just CRAZY:
Feudalism in 15 AD...
Artillery vs. Riflemen...
Modern era in the 1500th-1600th century.

I really LOVE the mid-game, just like all other parts - but with current game setup I get screwed over and it gets left out. Development is just too fast, dark ages is too fast, renaissance is way to fast and industrial era is next to non-existant.

The reason that this happens is obviously because the trade-frenzy the AI got, IE one AI gets X new tech, next turn he traded it away to EVERYONE. Also, the AI is completely crazy about giving all techs away to their vassals.

Im playing Emperor games, huge maps, epic speed. But this shouldnt be an issue, game rules change with the settings AFAIK.

Now Im curious, how will this mod effect these issues?
Is it likely I will have a more enjoyable game using this mod?

Thank you but you are missing the point here I think. Im fine with game-speed in general but Im not fine with the acceleration of development thats happening post 2.08.

You're playing on emperor, so the AIs have inflated research rates.

You're playing on huge maps, which by definition means more civs, which in turn means more trade partners for the AI.

You might be playing on single landmass maps like pangaea or lakes, you didn't specify. If you are, that gives everyone the ability to meet each other without climbling to techs like optics, increasing the trade spamming even more.

Change your game settings, dude. If you get the AI patch, lowering your difficulty setting is smart anyway. In the better AI patch, is the AI is better at researching on their own, but less crazy about trading with each other while leaving you out of the loop. Discrimination against human players just for being human doesn't really happen in this mod.