Bombarding stacks of units

Dusty909

Chieftain
I have a question about bombarding units. When I have a catapult, I figured out how to bombard a city.. the command appears in the command box when you have it parked next to the enemy city... My question is that I thought you were supposed to be able to bombard stacks of units as well. The bombard command is not available however, unless I am next to an enemy city.

That's correct. You can only bombard cities.

Dale

Then what are they talking about in the reviews about how effective siege units are against combating "stacks of doom"?

Collatoral damage (which is not bombarding).

I haven't found a stack outside a city to attack with my catapults yet (cannon are coming soon!), but my understanding is that some percentage (10%? 15%?.. probably varies by unit) of the damage you do to whichever unit stepped forward to defend is also applied to the other units in the stack. Some of the promotions will increase this damage. A single catapult by itself isn't going to obliterate and entire stack, but making all the units in it take 10% damage is nothing to sneeze at. And if if do it often enough (or have barracks, theology and hereditary rule), you can stack up the promotions and make the number much bigger (+30%?).

edit: 2kgames has posted the tech poster which includes the promotions. Three promotions to a siege unit gives +50% bombardment damage (or is it 100%? not sure if the promotion percentages stack), and also +10% combat strength vs melee and gunpowder units.

Yeah I thought I read somewhere that you can use siege weapons defensively to weaken stacks of invading forces! What happened to this? Was it never in the game and the people mentioning this were confused or was it taken out in the late stages of the game for some reason?

The stack of doom thing is still the only way to take out a city