Can't return city


Jan 26, 2015
I had Suli declare on my vassal and take a city two turns before I could get my army over there. I took it back and there was no option to return the city. It's 2 or 3 turns later and I still can't liberate it. I don't get it. I've had this happen the past few games and I don't understand why. Sooner or later it pops back up in previous game but why can't I return it when I retake it or give back now. How does that mechanic work?

If you want to gift a city immediately after capture, best to do it manually rather than relying on pop-ups.

Open up the trade screen with your vassal (ctrl+click Korean Empire on scoreboard) and then offer the city you want to liberate.
You can't gift away a city that has an enemy combat unit next to it.
Oh right, that's likely the issue here.

I don't like to have vassals, so my city-gifting knowledge is mainly limited to teammates which strangely enough this rule doesn't apply to.
Top Bottom