Darius Completes Manhattan Project... in 1877!

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by BammBamm, Dec 19, 2010.

  1. BammBamm

    BammBamm President of Bammsylvania

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    138
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Wichita, Kansas


    :lol:

    I shoulda stayed in school & learned my letters. This Persian guy is outta control! Remind not to piss him off, now that he can build and deliver nukes.

    Mind you, this is Version 1.0.1.135, and I'm on 'Prince' difficulty. From a purely historical perspective, 1877 seems a tad early to be toyin' around with fissile material, does it not?

    I may hafta crank it down to 'Court Jester' difficulty, or whatever's directly below 'Prince', because some of these nerdy AIs are makin' me look downright styoopid!

     
  2. AfterShafter

    AfterShafter Deity

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,057
    Location:
    World's largest lentil producer
    Heh, that's Civ. I pulled off many a space race victory in Civ IV well before the 1900's.

    But, just keep trying. Learn from your mistakes, and you'll be moving up in difficulty before you know it - no need to move down from what seems like a relatively close game! My general rule for late game losses is, if I was even in the running when I lose, there's no need to move down ;)
     
  3. UrbanX

    UrbanX Absolute Monarch

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    oh man, thats the funniest thing i've seen all day.

    dont feel bad though, prince-the diffculty setting for "normal" often makes me feel inferior and a backwards civilization to the others. im getting better at it though. reminds me of a previous game in which i despised catherine for being an entire era ahead myself and the other AI players and became unstoppable. I will never let her gain so much land ever again.
     
  4. skallben

    skallben Diplomat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Cold Country in Europe
    Tech progression rate is way off. Notice how every unit type goes obsolete super fast, eras just breeze through. Personally, I'll pick up a mod to adress this, maybe turn off RAs.

    Playing my first post-patch game on Emperor, I can build tanks at about 1650. Mind you I did not beeline, I also got Battleships and soon Flight.
     
  5. Creepy Old Man

    Creepy Old Man Warlord

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    295
    Try playing a higher difficulty level. I'm in the 1600's on diety now, and there's three players in the future era.

    Fortunately, I'm playing archipelago, and everyone else is going for science victory. So I keep sinking space ship parts as they try to move them around.

    Edit: It's actually a continuation of a game started pre-patch.
     
  6. skallben

    skallben Diplomat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Cold Country in Europe
    That's hilarious, space ship sabotage. :lol:
    Seriously though, don't you agree tech goes too fast?
    I'm gonna run Immortal next since I allways win on Emperor but I cringe at the thought that tech will race even faster...
     
  7. MadRat

    MadRat Cheese Raider

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2008
    Messages:
    598
    Location:
    Under the sink
    Gotta love the ICS Borg collectives. Yeah tech needs slowing down .. the US civil war era is usually filled with ICBMs.

    Rat
     
  8. krunsh

    krunsh Prince

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    Messages:
    303
    wow, never seen that and I play on king.
     
  9. ChaplainDMK

    ChaplainDMK Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    If you consider that this game spans 4000 years of human history, and in this case the guy was only some 70 years early for it, it isn't that off realy...
     
  10. the343danny

    the343danny Emperor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    498
    Location:
    Silicon Valley
    Anybody else think that a 50% increase to tech costs would be good? I did that to Civ 4 because I didnt like tanks in the 17th century.
     
  11. Buccaneer

    Buccaneer Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2001
    Messages:
    3,562
    Yes, I advocated that when everyone went on and on about tech overflow not being in the game. I said the only you can put that in there is to drastically increase the tech costs (with a combination of reducing GS and specialists). They only went part ways to appease those that cried that no tech overflow was a bug.

    But I do disagree with techs matching up to history. One should not have anything to do with the other, it's just number of turns.

    Glad to see an AI civ racing ahead to get nukes that early. Now play again and beat them to the punch.
     
  12. ChaplainDMK

    ChaplainDMK Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    103
    I agree, but having insane tech jumps like platoons of mechenized infantry supporting your knights in 1430 is a bit crazy :crazyeye: :lol:
     
  13. skallben

    skallben Diplomat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Cold Country in Europe
    Yeah the AI have truly been assimilated, no need for happiness or things like that. Guess they like their food without sugar and spices too.
     
  14. joyous_gard

    joyous_gard Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    Nice commentary in addition to the pic
     
  15. krc

    krc King

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    Messages:
    891
    In my first post-patch game (on King), Siam completed the Manhattan project around the same time. Later, Hiawatha and Ptolemy (as well as Russia, which I was playing) also finished their own Manhattan Projects.

    But the most surprising event in this game occurred in 1931, when Budapest completed the Manhattan Project.
    Spoiler :

    It's the first time I've seen a city-state do this. In this case, Budapest had no uranium, so it's hard to understand why they bothered. But it does seem to imply that it is theoretically possible for a city-state to use nukes. Has anyone ever seen that?
     
  16. skallben

    skallben Diplomat

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,005
    Location:
    Cold Country in Europe
    Haha, that is quite funny. But it raises another question; does CSs have any resources of their own left when they gift their stuff to allies? Else their advanced units would be rather weak due to resource shortage penalty I reckon.
     
  17. joyous_gard

    joyous_gard Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    476
    I had a puppet city build my Utopia Pyramid. That's definitely not as cool as yours though.
     
  18. kungming2

    kungming2 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2010
    Messages:
    39
    Location:
    USA
    I've seen the exact same thing - and I think it was either Budapest or Bucharest that built the Manhattan Project. Funny thing though is that I don't think it had the uranium to build it. :crazyeye:
     

Share This Page