[Col] Decoding Colonization SAV files (1994 / Old / Classic)

carthanc

Chieftain
Classic Colonization Fanatics,

I am a programmer undertaking my own "voyage of discovery" to completely decode this game's SAV files. I have hacked together some utilities to get up to speed, but I've only cracked a few pieces of the SAV. For all I know, something may already exist which can do this!

I know of the following:
I do not regularly work in any of the languages above, but I'll be looking for answers there next. None of those repos have detailed READMEs, so I may start by submitting pull requests to each repos with the steps I take to make them work for me (if I can get them to work).

Again, I'm just starting out. If you can point me in the right direction, or if you share this dream, I'm eager for the help!

(Also, while I have broad curiosity in this area and appreciation for remakes such as Civ4:Col/2008, FreeCol, and Treasure Planet, I am looking for answers within this very narrow scope: 1994 Colonization, Patch 3.0, Decoding the SAV files.)

AyCe, thanks for replying. I can’t say how much I’ve appreciated your engagement and expertise with the Col94 topics I’ve researched. Your “playing as the natives” post, in response to Blake’s request, was an impressive flex. 10.0

I also just used your MADSPack tool — fantastically easy, by the way! — because the “marfsana/colsavs” code needed the graphical assets. I had to rename/organize the assets to match hard-coded expectations, but the actual MADSPack part was thoroughly painless.

Is that one file all the source code for your multiplayer tool?

Also, would you be interested in any pull requests from me? I can test, hunt bugs, document, whatever. I’m hoping to show tangible support for anyone else slinging code in this area.

Last edited: