Edit caps defeated leader

rhaul

Warlord
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
217
Location
Madrid
I hope someone can help me as I am embarrassed to keep asking Darkpanda to help me with my issues with editing this game.

The fact is that I would like to lowercase the letters of the name of the player (leader) that appears in the final text when we are defeated and they name our return.

 
Last edited:

darkpanda

Dark Prince
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
758
I don't mind you asking me for this :) only thing is I just do it when I can, so no guarantees...

Anyways, initial findings, untested, to fix this, this should remove the call to "to upper case" when writing the leader name on game over screen:

versions EN.01:
address: 2D7BEh (ovr02:15BE)
original bytes: B826C9509A8E29582083C402B826C9
patched bytes: B826C9909090909090909090909090

versions EN.03:
address: 2CFC5h (ovr02:15C5)
original bytes: B806BA509A9029C31F83C402B806BA
patched bytes: B806BA909090909090909090909090

versions EN.04:
address: 2CFC5h (ovr02:15C5)
original bytes: B806BA509A8629C41F83C402B806BA
patched bytes: B806BA909090909090909090909090

versions EN.05:
address: 2D7C5h (ovr02:15C5)
original bytes: B806BA509A8A29452083C402B806BA
patched bytes: B806BA909090909090909090909090

versions FR.05:
address: 2EBC5h (ovr02:15C5)
original bytes: B846BF509A9029202183C402B846BF
patched bytes: B846BF909090909090909090909090
 
Last edited:

rhaul

Warlord
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
217
Location
Madrid
"original":




patched:



Instead of displaying the leader's name text, use "! Ciudadanos alarmados." (Citizens alarmed).
If I remember correctly, it belongs some notice.
 
Last edited:

darkpanda

Dark Prince
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
758
So weird !!

Which block of bytes did you chose to replace ?

I just tested on patching EN v474.04 and it works just fine:

upload_2022-3-16_21-49-53.png
 

darkpanda

Dark Prince
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
758
In fact I don't possess 475.04, but only 474.04 ...

I tried your patch on a copy of my 474.01, it starts ok, but then in-game its asking for "disk 1", looping forever...

I scanned the CIV.EXE from your spanish mod, and I find the exact same bytes at the same address:

versions EN.04:
address: 2CFC5h (ovr02:15C5)
original bytes: B806BA509A8629C41F83C402B806BA
patched bytes: B806BA909090909090909090909090
Can you double check you made the change at the right place ?

It does work when I patch my local copy of EN 474.01 with those bytes at the same addresse
 

rhaul

Warlord
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
217
Location
Madrid
This is what I do. I do it wrong?





To end the game, what I do is start a new one on the Earth and as soon as the caravan appears, I unban it.
 
Last edited:

rhaul

Warlord
Joined
Mar 25, 2010
Messages
217
Location
Madrid
The mod that I use now has even a lot of changes than the mod that you have downloaded from here.

If I revert the patch it stays as it was at the beginning (no bugs but in capital letters)
 

darkpanda

Dark Prince
Joined
Oct 28, 2007
Messages
758
Ok can you try patching as follows then, with updated values ?

versions EN.01:
address: 2D7BEh (ovr02:15BE)
original bytes: B826C9509A8E29582083C402B826C9
patched bytes: B826C990EB03909090909090909090

versions EN.03:
address: 2CFC5h (ovr02:15C5)
original bytes: B806BA509A9029C31F83C402B806BA
patched bytes: B806BA90EB03909090909090909090

versions EN.04:
address: 2CFC5h (ovr02:15C5)
original bytes: B806BA509A8629C41F83C402B806BA
patched bytes: B806BA90EB03909090909090909090

versions EN.05:
address: 2D7C5h (ovr02:15C5)
original bytes: B806BA509A8A29452083C402B806BA
patched bytes: B806BA90EB03909090909090909090

versions FR.05:
address: 2EBC5h (ovr02:15C5)
original bytes: B846BF509A9029202183C402B846BF
patched bytes: B846BF90EB03909090909090909090
 
Top Bottom