Foreign policy needs to give the illusion of no compromises.

Hygro

soundcloud.com/hygro/
When I studied advestising one thing I learned was that if you want someone to buy something for a lot of money, start by demanding a helluva lottta money. If you stick to even what seems the most outrageous for long enough and serious enough (and not let any innuendo out about how its a scam), eventually you will wear down whoever you are dealing with. Maybe not all the way, but at least part way.

Recently I made the mistake in the Apolytan chat I attended of not pushing further than the balance of power. It wasn't huge, but it undermines people like Goonie who actually try for further and seem successful.

We need to stop the kissing up, even if we are weaker. That doesn't mean showing attitude--far from it. But that DOES mean sticking to our guns and only letting the stronger proposals heard by foreign nations.

Most all deals end in some sort of compromise. If we start by saying, "it's cool you can get everything east, but we want the balance of power" then theres a chance you might not even get that. If you were to say "We want everything south and west" like Goonie, we will more likely get the balance of power, even if we don't get the southeast.

Hygro, the current administration had already come to that agreement, although it wasn't polled for some reason. I would however, be interested in seeing those previous chat sessions.

My issue with Goonie is not that he tried for more land. It was the way he handled the situation, as if the previous negotiations didn't matter. It makes us all look bad. Also, there is an element of mistrust on our side that permeates the entire conversation. To me, this is unwarranted.

Here, Fanatikou, take a look at the chat and decide for yourself.

The chat