1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Graphics Problems - Help Please

Discussion in 'Civ4Col - Technical Support' started by mikeymike, Sep 23, 2008.

  1. mikeymike

    mikeymike Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Just bought the game...been waiting for a while for this game and I finally got it. Installation went fine, fired up the first game, and everything loaded.

    But then I found land and the tree graphics are going nuts!! I thought i could play thru it, but its unbearable. HELP!!

    I tried lowering the graphics to the lowest available, frozen animations, low details...BUT still, the trees are crazy. (yes, restarted the app after changing the settings)

    I have an ATI Radeon 9700 Pro with the latest drivers (just downloaded and installed them to be safe).

    I have NEVER had any graphics problems with ANY games until this one. Very disappointing.

    Any tips? I GOTTA play this game!

    Thanks
     
  2. Phobic

    Phobic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    post a screenshot so we can take a look at it!
     
  3. mikeymike

    mikeymike Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Screen Shot Provided...
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Comraddict

    Comraddict C.IV

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,702
    Location:
    Iowa
    it is either driver problem or it is a dying 9700 pro, i had one that died after 3 yrs of use. of course, it might be as well bug with game, but i have seen such polygons on my dying card.
     
  5. Phobic

    Phobic Chieftain

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2006
    Messages:
    17
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    yeah it certainly looks like death..or at least overheating. are you overclocked or do you have your case in a poorly ventilated area?
     
  6. Viperace

    Viperace Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    Do you have Civ4 ?

    See if the same problem occur with Civ4
     
  7. mikeymike

    mikeymike Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Hmmm...Thanks for idea of it being a bad card...i never really thought of that.

    I do have civ4,swords. I am able to play highest quality and huge maps no problem. I have since uninstalled it and reinstalled colonization thinking maybe the two had conflicting config files or something. I know the graphics are supposed to be improved in colonization, so maybe im finally surpassing the limitations of the card...though the card does meet the specs as far as i know.

    I know its an older card, but does anyone else have a 9700 pro that either has it working or has similar problems? If someone has it working with the same card, then i'd be ready to accept that the card may be dieing.
     
  8. GVBN

    GVBN Emperor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    Messages:
    1,794
    Location:
    Finland
    It kinda looks like overheating, usually textures tend to stretch much more than that
     
  9. Viperace

    Viperace Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    I am still on 9800pro, but I haven't get my copy of col2 yet :(

    Wait for a couple day before mine arrives, then I ll let u know
     
  10. Shurdus

    Shurdus Am I Napoleon?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2,301
    Location:
    Settle in place
    that is either a cooling issue where your card heats up too much or the memory of your graphics card is severely damaged. these kinds of artifacts should not appear on your screen. If your system temperature is fine - around 60 or 40 degrees Celcius depending on the brand - you may want to lok into getting a new card.
     
  11. mikeymike

    mikeymike Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    wow, you guys are GOOD! I opened my case up and everything seemed fine...wasn't hot or anything....until i touched the graphics card. OUCH!! looks like the on-board fan hasn't worked in about 2 years. the thing near burned my fingers off.

    thanks everyone for pointing me in the right direction...i would have been spinning my wheels for days looking for a software solution. I'll just pony up the 50 bucks for a new AGP card (they are dirt cheap now-a-days huh?!)

    if that doesnt do the trick...i'll be back :) i dont care what it takes...im playing this game!
     
  12. defjam

    defjam Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2005
    Messages:
    38
    hehe good attitude
     
  13. mikeymike

    mikeymike Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    you guys were right...it was the card!

    thanks again

    Now...Time to play!!!!!
     
  14. Shurdus

    Shurdus Am I Napoleon?

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2004
    Messages:
    2,301
    Location:
    Settle in place
    Haha, you are very welcome. :)

    I am rooting for you since I still do not have my copy yet. :(
     
  15. Viperace

    Viperace Warlord

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2005
    Messages:
    217
    I got my game BTW, and it was running nicely with my old Radeon 9800 pro :D

    Completed my first game in Explorer .
     
  16. RichardLion

    RichardLion Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2006
    Messages:
    11
    Wow dude that is one tripped out video card can i have some of the drugs its on lol
     
  17. edu83st

    edu83st Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Argentina
    1111111111111111111111111111111111111111
     
  18. edu83st

    edu83st Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Location:
    Argentina
    Jaja! When did you get to know that it is impossible to play with those graphics???

    After you had an entire army protecting something like... a forest??? :lol::)
     
  19. mikeymike

    mikeymike Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    haha, no...i played only about 10 turns. What you cant see from the screen shot is that not only were the tree graphics crazy looking, but they were going crazy too! They were 'vibrating' and 'spinning', if that helps describe it. Imagine a ton of crazy, vibrating, spinning trees on your screen all moving at different rates.

    Needless to say, i knew it was impossible to play when my head starting hurting from looking at the screen :crazyeye:
     
  20. trytogrowupkid

    trytogrowupkid Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2008
    Messages:
    19
    sounds like a bad acid trip story.
     

Share This Page