Grrr. I'm Lost...

Agrajag

Chieftain
Okay, I've never before had to read the documentation to play any of the Civ/Col games. I need them to get GOOD at the games but I could at least play them decently before. I guess I'm getting old now....

Just got Colonization and my first reaction was, "Wow, how do I get these textures for Civ4?"

So I started playing on the second skill level Marathon to get my feet wet.

I played the first game and really screwed up. Played a second one and got the idea down but ran out of time. Now I'm on my fourth game and a few things are giving me real trouble:

1. I have yet to even get close to getting enough percentage of bells to declare independence. In the current game all four of my settlements (is that not enough?) are huge. Each has 3 people in Town Hall and I'm stuck at 33% even though each of the four shows, individually, that they are over 50%.

2. I noticed this a bit in each game but it appears certain units are simply not available in some games. In this game there are two units I cannot get or create under any circumstance that I can find. In this case it hurts because it's Elder Statesmen and Master Blacksmiths. I never get any from England and I see no way on my side to get one created.

Am I missing some obvious things here?

Okay, I've never before had to read the documentation to play any of the Civ/Col games. I need them to get GOOD at the games but I could at least play them decently before. I guess I'm getting old now....

Just got Colonization and my first reaction was, "Wow, how do I get these textures for Civ4?"

So I started playing on the second skill level Marathon to get my feet wet.

I played the first game and really screwed up. Played a second one and got the idea down but ran out of time. Now I'm on my fourth game and a few things are giving me real trouble: