[GS] Have you avoided Global Warming?

MaryKB

Goddess Queen
Supporter
So far I'm finding it's really impossible to stop it, and I'm always getting those ice caps melting, lol. Part of it I think is I'm still learning all these new ways of playing, and I'm still not completely understanding how it works. I do feel you sort of get help for it really late (Carbon Recapture), and damage is already done.

In my game I'm playing now, I haven't built a single power plant, but I'm still generating lots of CO2. I'm playing as England and I'm Suzerain of Cardiff, which is really helping me! If you're not familiar, they give your cities 2 power for every Harbor building, which is really nice :) So anyway, I'm well powered, but I'm not making a lot of pollution. I don't chop anything either.

I'm still getting quite a bit, I guess that's from my units? I've got about half a dozen Battleships, and a few Infantry, and a couple Bombers, but that's mostly it. Do your units really make so much CO2? Is it just from your ones that use Coal and Oil? I'm not getting a lot of information from my climate reports, just that I'm about the second worst polluter in my game, but I'm not really sure what I'm doing.

My world's already in Stage 3 of climate change, and I've built most of my Flood Barriers, so I'm mostly protected. But still, I feel like catastrophic damage happens so fast, you know?

But also it's not really so bad, in my first game my world got all the way through on Climate Change, and it wasn't so bad. Yes I lost a couple wonders (lol!), but once those 3rd level tiles became submerged, it seems like that was it. I was expecting something worse, like I remember in Civilization 2 you'd eventually have everything turning to desert, I'm a little disappointed the world's not being truly ruined by climate change, just a little limited flooding of some coast spots.

What are your experiences so far?