Help! Mali strategy for higher difficulties

Okigen

Chieftain
Hi guys,

So I'm a newbie to Civ and have played my way religiously from Settler to Emperor in the last few months. I'm now trying to win Immortal game with Mali (I fell for his friendly face and heard they would be easy lol).

Anyway here is reality: In the first game I spawned next to Alexander, who promptly took out my capital. In the second game my neighbors were Matthias and Alexander (again). Needless to say I was denounced and declared war against very quickly. After two rage quits I'm now on my third one.

What is the general strategy to help Mali survive early game?

On map scripts with close spawn points like Continents, I still think it's necessary to start with a warrior or/and a slinger and probably even tech to Archery right away. When you get rushed on turn 10 by an AI and you only have 2 scouts, you are dead. It's as simple as that.
With Mali, it's definitely important to settle at the edge of a desert with a few forested hills in the first ring of your capital. You need those production tiles to be able to build anything and you get the best of both worlds. More food and faith on your city center tile and good production from surrounding tiles.

Mali has interesting bonuses and they're fun to play but their production malus makes them harder to play in the early game. It's going to be harder to move up in difficulty with them than it would be with other civs. You always need to defend yourself from your neighbors in the early game, and Mansa Musa has to come up with an answer sooner because it takes him longer to build troops. To my mind making a warrior your first build is the safest option, and take Victoria's advice on managing the ai. If you're having a lot of trouble consider a civ with strong up-front bonuses, or at least one that isn't hampered in the opening turns. Mali is pretty sweet once you get them going though so I get it if that's just the challenge you're looking for.