1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Help me to understand the tech tree

Discussion in 'Civ1 - General Discussions' started by dark_pretender, Jul 16, 2019.

  1. dark_pretender

    dark_pretender Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    101
    Currently im almost in modern era. Have researched most techs and only two or three like republic and dont remember what else are options to research (got the pyramids) but i cant build tanks yet. While the does. So how does the tech tree works here on civ

    Thanks in advance
     
  2. Mize

    Mize Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    If you think you've researched most advances, but you can't build tanks yet, you're wrong.

    Here's a thread with some nice and fairly readable tech tree visualizations: https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/civ-1-advances-chart.575294/

    Also, this: https://www.civfanatics.com/civ1/refcharts/civ1techchart.htm

    What's this 'modern era' you're talking about? If you mean that your advisers are dressed in modern clothes instead of ancient rags, this is just a visual effect of discovering Invention, and that's not even halfway through the tech tree.
     
  3. dark_pretender

    dark_pretender Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    101

    What i wanted to know if why if im trying to beeline for x technolgy while looking at the tech tree thing. It just doesnt show "the next tech" until i research something else
     
  4. Mize

    Mize Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    There is an element of semi-randomness to the tech tree in the game itself. Civ will often NOT give you the option to research a tech, even if you have the necessary prerequisites, but I don't remember the exact algorithm it uses to pick which tech to deny the player. It is examined in this thread: https://forums.civfanatics.com/thre...ic-on-what-your-wise-men-can-research.323140/
    By using this knowledge to carefully plan your research path you can avoid getting cock-blocked by Civ.
    There are probably other threads here that explain the algorithm in detail, but you'll have to dig around the forum.
     
  5. Volcanon

    Volcanon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    296
    What is your government if you never researched the republic? Republic does not collapse in flames like democracy does if you ever have to go to war. And in Civ 1 there's virtually no malus to laying down a carpet of cities and blitzing Shaka.
    Going over the tech tree, I didn't realize until now that Republic was technically a dead end if you didn't want to bother with banking. The dead end I usually don't bother with is the one that gets you to chivalry.

    I like the random element, really. It was taken out probably because of complaints, but what we got in exchange with a tech tree in later games that had very few optional techs.
     
  6. Mize

    Mize Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Republic is most certainly NOT a dead end, neither is Banking. You need Banking for Industrialization and The Corporation, which you need to get Steel, Refining and Combustion, which you need to get the Automobile and Flight, etc. Unless you steal Banking, you can't really have 'modern' technologies without researching it.
     
  7. Volcanon

    Volcanon Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Messages:
    296
    Oh derf, the chart I looked at didn't have the arrows.

    Horse Riding - Feudalism - Chivalry is a complete dead end you don't need for anything. It's really quite odd knights weren't 6/2 or something since in real life they were far superior to chariots.
     
  8. Mize

    Mize Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2011
    Messages:
    271
    Arrows kind of make it confusing so in most of the charts the second prerequisite is written in brackets.
     
  9. Tristan_C

    Tristan_C Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,357
    Yeah unfortunately Knights are sub-optimal play. In the government on the path, Monarchy, the units require maintenance, so it is generally too weak on net production to merit the increased food yields (you need more pop to meet Despotism's production levels, and increasing that requires unrest quelling buildings and tile improvements).

    As for the Knights themselves, the rule-of-thumb is that Civ 1 is balanced pretty badly in favor of attacking- the extra point of defense on the Knight does relatively little to preserve them from more primitive/cheaper offensive units. Because tech costs in Civ 1 are based purely on the number of techs you already have in your roster, what you've done by researching Chivalry and getting that 1 point of defense is increased the cost of all subsequent tech. Ouch.
     
  10. dark_pretender

    dark_pretender Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 20, 2006
    Messages:
    101

    Thanks to all the people that answered my question, for lack of time i have not been able to answer before today.

    Mize thanks this was the kind of thing that i wanted to know. If there was a kind of randomness in the way the game throw the options to research every time a New research begins. Its now clear to me.
    I solved my problem (that was the Same you mention) with the Last Chart provided in this thread.

    https://forums.civfanatics.com/threads/civ-1-advances-chart.575294/

    Its very clear and it allow to almost beeline for the advance you really want. Now i can finally go for democracy, then railroads, then armor. I really enjoy playing again civ 1 (i do it on my Phone on short trips to kill some time) but having already conscription, while still runing cannons and not seing automobile on the list of techs to research and not knowing why was driving me crazy
    Happy civing everyone
     

Share This Page