1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Help!

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Technical Support' started by Mike.doc, Jul 20, 2007.

  1. Mike.doc

    Mike.doc Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Walloony, Belgium
    BTS tell me "Fatal error:Failed initializing Python" and stops.
    Thus no way to play!
    Some idea?
    Thanks from a frustrated guy.
     
  2. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,083
    I would suggest an uninstall & reinstall, followed by patching to 3.02. Do you get this problem when you try Civ4 or warlords?


    Moderator Action: Moved to Civ4 Technical support
     
  3. aktoura

    aktoura Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    Im suffering the same problem,

    Have reinstalled with the problem still occuring,

    Warlords is still running as is basic civ 4,

    Basic civ is box version, warlods is D2D version, BTS is box version,

    I saw you mentioned patch 3.02 cant find any patch at that version. Hope this helps to narrow it down, really want to start playing!
     
  4. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,083
    BTS will automatically install warlords (albeit without the scenarios). Can you try uninstalling your D2D warlords version (preumably you can get it from D2D again, for free, if you need to), then try installing BTS?

    To find the BTS patch 3.02, you actually need to be able to get the game to start - fromt eh main menu, choose "advanced" then "check for updates".
     
  5. Mike.doc

    Mike.doc Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Walloony, Belgium
    Thanks for help, but like Aktoura, the problem remains after uninstalling and reinstalling Bts. If I understand what it is to try now is to uninstall Warlords?
     
  6. Mike.doc

    Mike.doc Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Walloony, Belgium
    were successively after un/reinstalling:
    1/Failed initializing python
    2/Boost_Python-VC71-MT-1_32.DLL
    3/Windows could not..etc
     
  7. aktoura

    aktoura Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2
    D2D warlords has been unistalled, BTS reinstalled over basic Civ 4 and is happily up and running!

    Thats my problem solved, just thought I'd let you know before dissapearing for half a day :D
     
  8. Mike.doc

    Mike.doc Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Walloony, Belgium
    What is D2D? And where?
    Thanks
     
  9. Mike.doc

    Mike.doc Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Walloony, Belgium
    I've removed my dear Warlords entirely, and Bts persists to refuse to run!!!
     
  10. Mike.doc

    Mike.doc Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Walloony, Belgium
    And now after removing and reinstalling Warlords, error message:
    Failed loading file XML\GameInfo/Civ4.PlayerOptionInfos.xml
     
  11. Hyfrydle

    Hyfrydle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Gwynedd, North Wales
    I am also having this problem I have tried a complete reinstall of vanilla civ, Warlords and BTS and still get the Python failed to initialise message.

    My version of Warlords is D2D is this the cause of the problem?

    Jus uninstalled Warlords and still getting the same error this is sucks.

    Vanilla Civ loads fine going to try a uninstall of BTS and then reinstall.
     
  12. Mike.doc

    Mike.doc Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2002
    Messages:
    243
    Location:
    Walloony, Belgium
    ..I don't think so.
    I've done the the same as you, and, the problem remains.
    But Valilla, Warmords and Bts are from box.
     
  13. Hyfrydle

    Hyfrydle Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Location:
    Gwynedd, North Wales
    Works fine now after uninstalling Warlords and BTS then reinstalling BTS. Still not ideal I would like to know what I lose from core gameplay by uninstalling Warlords.

    just come across another problem the new BTS patch won't install it comes up with a message saying BTS isn't installed.
     
  14. ainwood

    ainwood Consultant. Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    30,083
    OK - searching for problems of this type, there is not a lot that is conclusive.

    My suggestion would be as follows:
    1. Uninstall BTS, Civ4 & Warlords.
    2. After uninstalling, go to the folders where they were installed, and manually delete them.
    3. Now you need to clean-up the registry, to ensure there isn't any stuff there. I would try CCleaner. Alternatively, you could also try the microsoft online scanner: http://safety.live.com/
    4. Once you've effectively removed all traces of Civ, I would then install Civ4, and patch to version 1.61. Then verify that it will start. Once that is complete, install BTS.
    Good luck!
     
  15. Tristan daCunha

    Tristan daCunha Pacifist Aggressive

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2006
    Messages:
    274
    I too have gotten the "failed initializing python" message. But when I try to uninstall Warlords I get a message saying "Setup.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close." Clicking on the "Debug" button doesn't seem to do anything.

    When I try to uninstall the vanilla game I get an even more cryptic error message. "An error [-5004: 0x80041f42] has occurred while running the setup."
    How should I proceed if Windows XP's control panel will not allow me to uninstall the games?

    Edit: a solution to my problem was given by Necbone in this thread:
    http://forums.civfanatics.com/showthread.php?p=5728915#post5728915
     
  16. LadyM

    LadyM Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    NC
    This worked for us too. Apparently installing BtS over a D2D copy of Warlords produces that "failed initializing python" error.
     

Share This Page