1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

How to tell where a wonder has been built

Discussion in 'Civ5 - General Discussions' started by Kechos, Jun 7, 2015.

  1. Kechos

    Kechos Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    So I'm currently playing as the Shoshone, trying to invade China. China has the Great Wall (surpise, surprise) and it's making life slightly more difficult, not to mention annoying. They've opened up to the point of offering cities for peace, and I was wondering if there was a way to tell which city has the Great Wall, to see if I could take that city and have a clearer shot at Beijing. I looked in the diplomacy tab and it doesn't say where. I know theres a mod that shows buildings in a city when you click on them (InfoAddict maybe?) but is there any way to see where it was built in vanilla Civ5?
     
  2. phillipwyllie

    phillipwyllie Wannabe Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,453
    Location:
    4 Hexes from FoY
    Save and reload.

    The GW will extend 5 tiles(maximum) out from the city it is built in. Or you could spy on Beijing as it is most likely built there. The spy will confirm or deny this.

    For any other wonder you have to zoom right in and hope that the graphic for it isn't obscured. The art section of civfanatics has a post that shows screenshots of most wonders under construction/built.
     
  3. Kechos

    Kechos Chieftain

    Joined:
    May 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Thanks alot!
     
  4. Sessy

    Sessy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Canada
    I would still suggest zooming in, most of the time for early wonders like that you won't have a spy available to check the cap. But I don't think GW has any graphic for when it is being built.
     
  5. phillipwyllie

    phillipwyllie Wannabe Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,453
    Location:
    4 Hexes from FoY
    The GW is the only wonder iirc that doesn't have an under construction graphic. although the OP is looking to capture it from Wu and wants to know what city it is in.
     
  6. reddishrecue

    reddishrecue Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,206
    Gender:
    Male
    Zoom into cities to find the wonder building. One of the exceptions to this is the great wall which might need a spy.
     
  7. Browd

    Browd Dilettante Administrator

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2012
    Messages:
    11,506
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    GW isn't the only exception. The Great Fiirewall has no city-level graphic.
     
  8. Sessy

    Sessy Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2014
    Messages:
    419
    Location:
    Canada
    In the case where wonders don't have graphics while under construction, hubble space telescope is also like that afaik (it's also invisible after completion, for obvious reasons). In terms of capturing it, I think the capital is a good start, but there really is no way to know for sure unless you spy on it.
     
  9. phillipwyllie

    phillipwyllie Wannabe Deity

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,453
    Location:
    4 Hexes from FoY
    It has an in-game graphic

    Civ5 - ingame wonder graphics
     
  10. redwings1340

    redwings1340 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2011
    Messages:
    1,408
    Location:
    Maryland
    Unrelated, but I find it amusing that the great wall is located in one specific city.

    It's probably in the capital though, unluckily for you.
     

Share This Page