How to use modify chops and Golden Age yields

BIWC_EMBERS

Chieftain
I'm trying to create a civilization based on forest yields and and focusing on improved tile yields. I'm currently planning on a unique improvement and an unique unit. However, I'm very new to modding so some help would be appreciated!

For the unique improvement I've modified the lumber mill to provide culture and gold. All of the improvement implementation is in place and achievable through XML.

For the unique unit I am considering an improvement chop mechanic on a worker. Since I'm already using lumber mills I was thinking of improving chops outside of the civilization territory or possibly inside of other civs, albeit with reduced yields.

For the trait I am considering a few options. The first is to improve the Golden Age yields from improved resources or provide increased strategic resources. The other option is providing combat strength to units on resource tiles.

It seems like the unit and trait would require modifications in Lua, but I'm not exactly sure where to start. I have a fair amount of coding experience, but don't know what functions to use.

From my understanding for the chop mechanic I would need:
  • Allow worker to enter other territories
  • Allow worker to remove forest feature in other territories
  • Assign production yield to city
For the Golden Age concept, would either options be possible purely in XML or will it require Lua?

I'd appreciate any help on how to implement this, or recommendations to the concept!

The first is to improve the Golden Age yields from improved resources or provide increased strategic resources.
I'm... unsure what this is supposed to mean. To improve Golden Age yields is to imply Golden Ages affected resource quantity to begin with. Or were you referring to e.g. the extra +1 gold per tile that yields at least 1 gold already?