How to utilise Vassal States?

Zortex

Chieftain
Hi there,
I'm relatively new to civ4 (I am running BTS), picked it up recently with good memories ranging back from civ2 ;).

Anyway I'm doing allright, playing on Prince now so I'm not completely useless! Anyway I've aquired vassal states a couple of times in my travels, always done during war time so that they can't just bail on me when they feel like it. I have read all the information on vassals I can find but am still struggling to see the point.

So this is how I understand it to work.
* 50% of score, land mass, population is attributed to me.
* Increased happiness in my cities (how much?).
* Increased maintanence in my cities (not sure on this one - is it a big increase?).
* Vassal mirrors my war, peace, open borders with other civs.

After this I get a bit confused. Apart from the above what is the point of vassals? I tend to just dump alot of techs on them to make them happy with me and get them more powerful. But when I start a war with another civ...my vassal seems to just sit there doing nothing. He won't give me free techs or gold. So what is the actual point? Isn't it more beneficial to just finish the job and clear him out when I had the chance? Or is the whole thing a time saving technique so you can move on to other things?

Finally and probably most importantly, is there any way to control what a civ researches or make him attack a city or something?

In summary, can someone please explain to me how to actual garner some advantage from having a civ. Rather than just making sure he can't attack you and getting some of his score?

Thanks in advance.