1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Indeo Codec troubles with Civ2 solved

Discussion in 'Civ2 - Technical Support' started by intruder45, Apr 24, 2010.

  1. intruder45

    intruder45 Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    I came across my old copy of Civ2, the one that doesn't require the cd to play and had a frustrating time trying to get it to run on my XP Pro, when I used to play it all the time.

    I'd done a fresh install and got the error message about getting the last version of the Indeo Codecs, which I did and still couldn't get it to run. After much searching, here and on the web, I found some surprising information:

    http://www.computerworld.com/s/article/9142140/Rather_than_patch_Microsoft_blocks_buggy_code

    The answer and the fix was supplied by Microsoft:

    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/954157

    Under the "More Information" tab, shown on the left, there are two "Microsoft Fix It" icons in the middle of the page. Click on the one to the right, under the "Use this Fix-it button to re-register the Indeo codec files automatically". You'll download a patch, "MicrosoftFixit50327.msi". Double click on it and let it do it's thing and that's all there is to it.
     
  2. Catfish

    Catfish Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,394
    Location:
    Wollongong, Australia
  3. FoxAhead

    FoxAhead Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2017
    Messages:
    81
    Gender:
    Male
    I found an easy way to enable Indeo codec back if you have K-Lite pack installed.
    Find and run in Start menu: "Manage 32-bit VFW and ACM codecs". Scroll down.
    upload_2017-10-22_22-15-2.png
    Select checkbox "Indeo 4".
    Click "Apply & Close".
    Now all the videos should be played normally.

    UPDATE:
    If you don't have K-Lite pack or don't want to install it then you can just use separate Codec Tweak Tool from this pack (https://www.codecguide.com/download_other.htm).
    upload_2018-5-5_18-48-23.png
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: May 5, 2018

Share This Page