Is it possible to lock a new technology like the Lanun?

Chiyo-chan

Chieftain
I have tried adding some new tech's to the game, i wanted a few new ones which would be restricted to a new civ i am working on, but i am having troubles keeping the tech locked. The Lanun have "Sea Faring" which cannot be researched by anyone (and they start with it), this is essentially what i am trying to achieve. I tried making a similar copy of Sea Faring to work from but nothing is working. I was hoping simply setting the <icost> values to -1 would work but this just sets the ingame research cost to 1.

I am not good with Python but looked into it a little, i found a bit of code:
Code:
        if eTech == gc.getInfoTypeForString('TECH_SEAFARING'):
            if iCiv != gc.getInfoTypeForString('CIVILIZATION_LANUN'):
                return True
        if pPlayer.isHuman() == False:
Now as said i am not good at Python, honestly i don't get most of it. To my understand though this is possibly the code i need to add to my tech, which i tried doing like so;

Code:
        if eTech == gc.getInfoTypeForString('TECH_
Otherworldly_Presence
'):
                return True

I haven't made the civ yet who will use it but tested this on both current civs (Lanun, both Elven leaders, Banor ect) and it seems to just remove the UI in game. not quite sure what i am missing.

I have created a entry in the XML which adds the tech to the tech tree which works fine, i have added definition values to let the game read it's name and such in game in the gametext files too. I figured adding this line of Python would do the trick but it didn't.

Does anyone know
1 - what i am doing wrong or missing?