[GS] Keeping loyalty in an ancient rush?

Freaky

Chieftain
I'm new to Civ6, but could beat Deity more ofthen than not on 4, 5, and 5+Vox Populi. I beat a Prince game with Pericles to learn the mechanics. I looked at the leader list, and Gilgamesh looked broken, so I tried him out on Emperor and ROFLstomped my 2 nearest neighbors on my first try, so I figured I'd try it on Deity. I made a spreadsheet to try different permutations on build order and strategy in a very flexible starting location. Playing on Epic speed. Growing to 3 and then pumping war carts led to the defenders getting walls up in 2700BCE. Going immediately for 3 chariots allowed me to stomp my neighbor, but cities would flip after 3-5 turns of ownership, and letting them all turn Free, and then re-conquering didn't help. Next, I tried settling a city nearby first, and was able to take and keep 1 city, but the delay meant walls were up after 1 conquered city. I tried conquering the capital and closest city on the same turn - 3-5 turn flip still. I used a ziggurat+inspirations combo to get Victor and put him in a city while conquering 2 cities simultaneously. Even with Victor in there, the loyalty when from -28 per turn to -20 per turn, and the city always flipped. I love starting with an ancient war, but it seems unusable with such insanely massive loyalty drops. Is there no way to just ram your troops into an enemy and steal their land in Civ6 Deity without having to guild a huge infrastructure first?

-20 loyalty per turn with Victor, and after conquering the original capital and another city sounds like the capital must have moved to another large, nearby city.

Did you keep a unit garrisoned in the conquered cities? Did you buy a monument? Did you chop some food resource to instantly increase the population? Did you establish an internal traderoute with high food yields to grow population quickly? Those things make a difference.