Late Game Techs: Oxford and Tribal Villages

Minou

King
Playing as Babylon, I ended up getting Oxford near completion when I was already pretty late in the tech tree. Since all the techs available at that moment were ones I felt I could boost in the next ten turns, I decided to pause Oxford, boost them all, and then also complete Stealth and Telecommunications by pillaging the remaining AI Campus. I then finished Oxford hoping to haul in Robotics (my tech was light years ahead of my civics) and one expensive (and unboostable) Future Era tech.

To my horror, I only got Robotics, even though Cybernetics was unlocked! I guess this means Oxford stops working after the Information Era. This is probably only mildly relevant as it would have been smarter to get an earlier start on the wonder and chop it when unboostable techs like Chemistry/Rocketry/Advanced Flight/Nuclear Fusion were on the table.

On a related note, ever since I started playing Civ 6 I have dreamed of getting a free tech out of one of those late game Tribal Villages I tend to discover near the end of the game. In the very same game I popped a hut on T135 for a double tech boost, which for Babylon means 2 free techs. Interestingly, I gained Seasteads and Predictive Systems even though I had not finished the pre-req Cybernetics yet. Pretty much cancels out my Oxford mis-hap and finally confirms (at least for me, not sure if anyone posted this already) that saving a bunch of huts for the final push may pay off big time - you have a 1/6 chance of a "Science" hut which could contain 1 tech boost, 2 tech boosts, or 1 free tech.

TDLR:
1. Oxford cannot award Future Era techs
2. Tribal Villages can award Future Era techs/boosts
3. Tribal Villages can award tech boosts even if you lack the pre-req (I am uncertain if they can award full techs without pre-reqs completed though)

Tech.jpeg