Limited effect from resources

Gufnork

Prince
Is it possible to in some way limit the effects you get from a resource? Like for instance cows can only increase health in 5 cities each or you could only have 20 units requiring iron per iron source. I'm guessing not, since I don't see how, but I'm new to modding. Maybe you have some ingenious idea.

The reason is that I've always disliked how having a single source of oil or iron can make or break a game. I like that resources are important and reasons to go to war over, but I think there should always be a reason to have more of a resource.

You hit the nail on the head Gufnork!!! This is one of the issues I've alway's had with the game. If you have one oil resource you can build hundreds of oil consuming units with it? Even if you lose the oil resource your units that you have already built can still function like normal. If this could be fixed to some sort of "upkeep" system for the resources it would add a ton of complexity and strategic importance to the resources in the game.

I like the idea of decreasing units combat stats if they go over the unit limit per resource.

Something like this almost has to be possible. Have you noticed that there is a limit on how many missionaries of a certain religion you can have built at the same time? I think it is 4. Same thing with spies.

But don't you think this will just stop trade from happening? There's no way that a civ with 2+ irons would trade them anymore.

The only issue is telling/changin g the AI to understand that it needs more resources for more production which would mean editing the AI with the sdk

That is true. The AI would gladly trade away their extra resources not knowing that they now need them. It would be possible without the SDK, but MP games only as the AI would be totally gimped.