1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

MapView 2.0 - Civilization 4 Editor

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Utility Programs' started by Gr3yHound, Jan 5, 2009.

  1. Peregrine

    Peregrine The Swift

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    433
    Location:
    The Nether Regions
    In the file pulldown menu, there is "set Civ4 directory." Is this used to designate which version/mod's directory will be used by the mapview program when creating maps?

    Is this thread still active? Seems like the last few replies have gone unanswered.
     
  2. Gr3yHound

    Gr3yHound Mr.MapView

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    395
    Sorry for that. I can't answer all questions anymore since i partially forgot the details.

    Even if it's months late, i can answer your question.
    MapView tries to find your Civ4 install so it can use the XML files from the extensions and installed mods to provide the toolbars with available units etc.

    The drop down can be useful in 2 cases.

    a) MapView fails to find the Civ4 directory for some reason.
    2) You want to provide a custom directory on your own. Since MapView only needs the XML part of Civ you could pack the (i believe) assets/xml substructure on an USB stick or something and you could work with it, even when Civ4 is not fully installed on the computer.
     
  3. Redwallzyl

    Redwallzyl Warlord

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    227
    hello. i don't really expect a response but I'm having trouble getting this to work for the C2C mod and it also doesn't seem to be able to detect the BTS exe without me directing it.
     
  4. Fairfax

    Fairfax Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2013
    Messages:
    50
    Thank you for this tool. Saved my ass.
     
  5. Gr3yHound

    Gr3yHound Mr.MapView

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2004
    Messages:
    395
    ;) Glad to hear that

    It has it's problems but glad it helps.
     
  6. Buffalo Solider

    Buffalo Solider Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2016
    Messages:
    7
    How am I suposed to access hidden folder when app don't allow me to enter path I want to access? (and it also don't see my hidden directory (and there is no option to show hidden directories ( AND I cannot even find any .ini file or something along this, so I could enter manually gamefolder path (and I cannot drag and drop map savefile. I wasn't expecting it to work, but if all other options failed, I tried this... ) ) ) ) I'm not willing to move save file out and in my game directory.

    Ok, finnaly got it to work after adding shortcut to dash into hidden folder. It is kind of working now, but unfortunately it won't help me with my scenario. It's fine-ish tool. :thumbsup:
     
    Last edited: Jul 21, 2020

Share This Page