1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Mod to restrict 1 combat unit per tile?

Discussion in 'Civ4 - Creation & Customization' started by mattpilot, Mar 21, 2010.

  1. mattpilot

    mattpilot Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2004
    Messages:
    184
    Was curious if there's a mod out there that makes the upcoming combat/gameplay in Civ5 a reality in Civ4.

    Anything of that sorts available or already in works? Preferably compatible with RevolutionDCM :)
     
  2. NotSoGood

    NotSoGood Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Finland
    IIRC Affores added this to a new dawn (a modmod of Rise of Mankind) which uses RevDCM.
     
  3. Myxphyn

    Myxphyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    That is what I looking for also. Is there a MOD for "normal" BTS also? I couldn't find yet. I like to try this 1 unit per hex and ranged attacking thing :)
     
  4. Myxphyn

    Myxphyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    I checked the "A New Dawn" forum, but I couldn't see anything about 1 unit per tile or ranged attack, maybe I misunderstand something?
     
  5. LateGameWarMong

    LateGameWarMong Warlord

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    115
    I've thought about adding ranged attack by making "aircraft" with a 100% evasion chance, and range of 1, with a strength equal to the unit it is meant for.
    So archers would be like a "land carrier", carrying 1 "archer aircraft" with an attack strength of 3, range of 1, 100% evasion chance.
    Only problem is how do you distribute the cost? ideally the range 1 "aircraft" would come with the unit...
    But cities could just stockpile the complementary "aircraft", and pwn any unit that gets within 1 tile (I'd keep the 50% damage limit).
    Artillery could be given a range of 2, I suppose, and would loose the bombard capability... their complementary aircraft could do the bomb tile thing...
    But I fear this would make any non-ranged unit nearly obsolete, as stacks just strike each other from 1-2 tiles away, in forrest/hills, with medic units, and a 25% fortify bonus,
    You might have 1 melee only stack defender....

    Or do you reduce the ranged units combat strength to 1, and give their former strength to the complementary "aircraft"
    After all, once you close in, a warrior with a club, a musketeer, or a rifle man, would all be about as effective in hand to hand combat.

    Tanks and mechanized infantry would have a strength greater than 1 though.........
     
  6. NotSoGood

    NotSoGood Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Finland
    Well, DCM (Dale's Combat Mod) is for normal game but It has never been updated to BTS. RevDCM uses all things in DCM + many many more. The best things is that you can switch off and on features you want. The one unit per tile is only in A New Dawn, but you have to download RoM (Rise of Mankind uses RevDCM) first and install AND on it.

    IIRC, there was an easier way to do that in xml without changing anything big, but I don't remember it anymore...
    And that could lead to wars like WWI, just bring there more men to win... :lol: :rolleyes:
     
  7. Myxphyn

    Myxphyn Chieftain

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2007
    Messages:
    5
    Location:
    Budapest, Hungary
    Thanks!

    Should I have to install RevDCM before RoM? or RoM contains it or just use it? Its not so clear for me, sry :)

    Another thing: I want to use the hungarian civilization, as I can see its included in the extra civ pack for RoM 2.0. I wonder is it compatible with A New Dawn?

    Well, now I can see that there is no update of AND for RoM 2.9, so first I try RoM 2.9, and when AND 1.7 will be released I will install it :)
     
  8. NotSoGood

    NotSoGood Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Finland
    No need to install RevDCM, RoM has it already.
    I think the best place to ask would be in the A New Dawn subforums. They'll know it best.
     
  9. phungus420

    phungus420 Deity

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2003
    Messages:
    6,296
    1 unit per tile wouldn't work in BtS, the AI will get destroyed as it has no concept of it, and also the combat mechanics are not set up to handle it. I also really doubt Afforess's AND mod adds this, if it does it would be extremely imbalanced for the reasons stated above.
     
  10. NotSoGood

    NotSoGood Emperor

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,077
    Location:
    Finland
    I'm not saying that it would work well, he/she wanted to have that kind of feature. But I do understand your point how it won't work in Civ4, that's what Afforess said too but did add it.
     

Share This Page