1. We have added the ability to collapse/expand forum categories and widgets on forum home.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Photobucket has changed its policy concerning hotlinking images and now requires an account with a $399.00 annual fee to allow hotlink. More information is available at: this link.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. All Civ avatars are brought back and available for selection in the Avatar Gallery! There are 945 avatars total.
    Dismiss Notice
  4. To make the site more secure, we have installed SSL certificates and enabled HTTPS for both the main site and forums.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Civ6 is released! Order now! (Amazon US | Amazon UK | Amazon CA | Amazon DE | Amazon FR)
    Dismiss Notice
  6. Dismiss Notice
  7. Forum account upgrades are available for ad-free browsing.
    Dismiss Notice

multiplayer : crash when i'm host !!

Discussion in 'Civ5 - Multiplayer' started by Naokaukodem, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. Ermak-

    Ermak- Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    MINNEAPOLIS, MN
    This happened before the patch and keeps happening again. Every game there is a certain % the host will crash at any given time. It can happen at turn 10 or turn 307. I got a monster of a gaming pc with very fast internet- and it is happening to me and everyone else regardless. Playing multiplayer is really hit and miss , with missed being over 75% of the time.
     
  2. joncnunn

    joncnunn Senior Java Wizard Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,621
    Location:
    Missouri
    Moderator Action: Host crashes randomly merged with multiplayer crash when I'm host
     
  3. bluetry

    bluetry Chieftain

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    unfortunetly im crashing again..ur right...ill stop Play civ 5:sad::sad::sad::sad:
     
  4. Ermak-

    Ermak- Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    MINNEAPOLIS, MN
    Has anybody anywhere was able to fix HOST CRASH thing? I regularly play with people with weak PCs who never never crash and last till neclear wars in multiplayer with 6 or sometimes 8 people. They are from russia and run on slow internet and outdated PCs , while my 4770k 12 GB Ram, 660Ti host crash every game. There must be some fix. Could it be conflict with windows?
     
  5. CraigMak

    CraigMak The Borg

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2013
    Messages:
    1,058
    I don't think that anyone has figured this out yet. Why it crashes for one person but not another seems to be completely random. I have a great computer with specs far exceeding the requirements and I always freeze up as host. I have a friend with an outdated computer who is able to host our games just fine.

    It seems to me that there is a conflict with new video drivers or video cards perhaps because when I freeze up the screen goes black when I tab out. This i pure speculation though.

    The only work around I have found is hosting without city states or barbs. Having no AI units to move around seems to work wonders for stability although it does make the game a bit bland.
     
  6. Dvil

    Dvil Chieftain

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Well i have this issue too like 50% of the people that play civ, its amazing no one else complains about this more.
    Perhaps ive been a little more rigorous that most in attempting to fix this issue.
    I can tell you what it isnt at least, anything the support desk tells you it could be. so its not gfx drivers, its not audio set to 4100 + nor is it outdated directx or .net framework or vc. Neither has it anything to do with your network connection.

    Ive reinstalled my pc several time, after the support desk claimed it "must be my pc". I literally installed windows, the gfx driver and steam/ civ and gave it a go. And it still crashed. i tried windows 7 windows 8 and windows 8.1 all crash when hosting for some reason.

    Now recently ive been testing with windows 10, and to my surprise it has several issues, but crashing while hosting is not one of em!. It runs slower between turns, it freezes when you alt tab (on build 10049). But ive done 5 full games for hours with lots of people quitting and no resyncs and no crashes or freezes.
     
  7. Ermak-

    Ermak- Chieftain

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    313
    Location:
    MINNEAPOLIS, MN
    I was messing with graphical settings after my friend said that when he lowered textures it doesnt crash much at all. Well, i turned off GXT RENDERING TEXZTURES button and put textures to low and turned off AA. Now I havent crashed in 3 days.
     
  8. BiscuitLord

    BiscuitLord Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    If hosting with windows 10 still works, could you tell us your settings? Thank you very much.
     
  9. mr.Kyrre

    mr.Kyrre Chieftain

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2017
    Messages:
    13
    Gender:
    Male
    was this the fix? reinstall?
     

Share This Page