My mid-game slog trouble

wgabrie

Chieftain
I'm somewhat new to civ 6, I have all the expansion content, and I'm playing on the Prince difficulty level. I have just finished clearing my continent of a rival civilization and some city-states that had prospered on good land. This has brought the classical era to a close.

Now, I don't need to study the tactics of the Medieval Era because there is no one that I need to attack or defend against. I own my entire starting continent. My thought is that the next step is to skip that age and rush for the naval tech to get past the ocean and explore the world.

But that's where I get slogged down. The technology I need to cross the ocean is Cartography, and that advances the world to the Renaissance Era. I quickly fall behind the unmet AI players, who quickly jump ahead in all victory categories, and I'm not sure what the next step is to continue from my strong start.

Attachments

• Walt 6 -2- 117 25 AD.Civ6Save
    1.2 MB · Views: 22
You'll probably get much more detailed responses to this but the quick answer is to build campuses with the buildings. Look for spots with high adjacency (usually next to mountains) and build them first. Then put your envoys into science city-states to get their bonuses.

Also look at the tech tree and see if you can cut down the longer turn times by building or doing something to get the 50% boost.

The fact you have conquered your continent means you probably have way more cities and citizens than your rivals, so thats a huge boost already.

In your rush to get ocean travel, don't forget you'll also need techs to upgrade your units.