1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

Random or pre-select?

Discussion in 'Civ6 - General Discussions' started by Tech Osen, Apr 26, 2018.

  1. RockTheCazbah87

    RockTheCazbah87 Pacal's pal

    Joined:
    May 28, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Manhattan, NY
    You've inspired me for my next game. It's barely 100 turns into my current Gandhi run and the AI have collectively taken out 8-10 city states...
     
    WillowBrook likes this.
  2. iammaxhailme

    iammaxhailme Emperor

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2015
    Messages:
    1,493
    I usually play on huge maps (12 size) but lower the number of civs to 8 or 10.
     
  3. WillowBrook

    WillowBrook Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2004
    Messages:
    3,446
    Location:
    Chicagoland
    I also often use a mod that gives city states early walls, which helps a lot.
     
    agonistes likes this.
  4. pietro1990

    pietro1990 Prince

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2016
    Messages:
    550
    Gender:
    Male
    If there was a hall of fame i would make sure that i played with each leader now i don't care :(
     
  5. Alexis Layton

    Alexis Layton Chieftain

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2003
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Cambridge, MA
    I’ve always wanted a mode where you could pick your leader (and thus Civ) after you see the immediate surroundings. It probably wouldn’t work well in multiplayer. Perhaps have units at the start of the game which represent an undifferentiated Civ. In effect you could become your Civ when you settle the first city.
     
  6. LMT

    LMT Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2013
    Messages:
    182
    I always pick my leader, but usually alternate among all of them. There's no leader that I feel compelled to pick more often and none that I intentionally ignore.

    I usually play on fractal maps because I find them the most unique out of all the types.
     
  7. Forster

    Forster Prince

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2005
    Messages:
    435
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Columbus, GA
    I always pick the leader, use continents, standard speed at King. I usually leave the number of civs alone, but will increase the number of city states by one or two.
     
  8. Klinn

    Klinn Warlord

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2017
    Messages:
    131
    Always select a leader. First time though so that I can see what they're like, a second round while trying to play to their civ's strengths.

    Almost always leave the AI opponents as random, but there are times when I wish we had the option to exclude a specific civ. For example I get really tired of Harald instantly hating me when we meet because I haven't bothered building a navy for my one little coastal city with 2 water tiles.
     
  9. Disgustipated

    Disgustipated Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2006
    Messages:
    11,298
    Location:
    Las Vegas
    I only hand pick for Earth TSL maps. I always hand pick my leader choice though. Otherwise too many times the game loads up a civ that I'm not really in the mood to play. I base my pick on what mood I'm in to do for a victory type. Continents maps always get random AI civs.
     
  10. Depravo

    Depravo Siring Bastards

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,296
    Location:
    England
    Because I play on a toaster, I don't like to have to regen. So developed a really stupid quasi-random method where I close my eyes and hum while scrolling up and down the leader list. Reselect if it's one of the leaders I'm not interested in playing or have played too recently.

    Before going through this farce, map settings are always Epic, Large, Emperor and either Fractal, Small Continents or Island Plates with no other changes.
     
  11. Lily_Lancer

    Lily_Lancer Deity

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2,341
    Location:
    Berkeley,CA
    I always start with everything random, except for map size (standard since I don't want to break my computer on some x-large maps), difficulty( deity since it is the most uneasy, although still a too easy difficulty), and speed (standard since I don't want to conquer everything on classical era in marathon)

    All others are all random.
     
  12. JosephC

    JosephC Warlord

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2010
    Messages:
    111
    Blue text is what I've changed from default. Love the option to save presets.

    Ruleset: Rise & Fall
    Game Difficulty: Varies

    Player Civ: Always Select, Choice Varies
    # Civilizations: 15-20

    Map Settings
    Starting Era: Ancient
    Game Speed: Marathon
    City-States: 18-22
    Map: Continents (still waiting for Terra option)
    Map Size: Huge
    Resources: Sparse
    World Age: Standard
    Start Position: Standard
    Temperature: Standard
    Rain Fall: (Been experimenting with, Currently Wet)
    Sea Level: (Been experimenting with, Currently High)

    Victory Conditions
    [x] Cultural Victory
    [x] Domination Victory
    [x] Religious Victory
    [x] Science Victory
    [ ] Score Victory
    No Turn Limit

    Options
    [x] No Duplicate Leaders
    [ ] No Barbarians
    [ ] No Teams
    [ ] No Tribal Villages
    [x] Teams Share Visibility

    Why no Raging Barbarians option ?
     
  13. Victoria

    Victoria Regina Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2011
    Messages:
    11,343
    Have you played on Immortal yet? If you want raging, they rage there and deity.
     
  14. Mr. Shadows

    Mr. Shadows Nomad of the time streams

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    645
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Incheon, R.O.K.
    I know you specialize in finish times, and of course Deity is Deity. Do you know if anyone deliberately does speed runs at the easiest difficulties? It isn't necessarily easier because it would mean that you have to finish that much faster. In some games it works out that it's just as (or more) challenging than Deity, it's just a different race. I'm just curious because I've seen it done with other games, although I'm not sure how it would play in VI.
     
  15. Draco84

    Draco84 Warlord

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Messages:
    222
    I chose random leader, strandard or large size and correspondingly standard or epic speed.

    Seems more often then not this results in being Rome with Sumaria as my nearest neighbor for some reason.

    Usually I'll reroll when that happens
     
  16. agonistes

    agonistes wants his subs under ice!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    2,490
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Vermont
    I don't care for epic start either. But mostly its because it gives you too many resources - less room for districts/lumbermills. And so often I get resources I despise... mercury, jade, and so forth.

    I love a younger planet though. I love having mountains. A map with few mountains can cause me to quit a game. Not for the science. For the majesty.
     
    Victoria likes this.
  17. Lily_Lancer

    Lily_Lancer Deity

    Joined:
    May 25, 2017
    Messages:
    2,341
    Location:
    Berkeley,CA
    No, I don't specialize in "achieving the lowest possible finishing time", instead I mainly focus on "achieving the lowest expected finishing time according to the current situation"

    The difference between these two is that type I people select the best possible map and replay it multiple times to achieve "the lowest possible finishing time" across all maps, while type II people just focus on the current situation and try to make a best strategy that can solve the current situation.
     
    LobstaBoy, acluewithout and Victoria like this.
  18. Mr. Shadows

    Mr. Shadows Nomad of the time streams

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    645
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Incheon, R.O.K.
    Understood, sorry for the confusion I simply meant speed runs in general. I'm still curious whether some people take the challenge just as seriously at lower difficulty levels because it changes the challenge? Does that not happen (yet?) in VI or do think it just wouldn't work? You have different tools to work with at Chieftain so it might actually be more difficult to come up with the best strategy for the best time.
     

Share This Page