Realistic Future Era

Randy Chandy

Chieftain
What technologies/civics/units/wonders would you like to see in a detailed, realistic future era? This could include hypothetical technologies, stuff currently under development which is not yet practical, or stuff which Firaxis has simply not included yet.

Note - I am not a scientist - my explanations are highly simplified and may not be entirely accurate.

Technologies

Optical Computing
- Computing using photons rather than electrical current to carry a signal. Potentially much faster.

Quantum Computing -
Computing using quantum phenomena, many potential implications - particularly in the field of cryptography.

Phage Therapy
- Alternative to antibiotics (bacteriophages are more specific), and one possible solution the the antibiotic apocalypse.

Virtual Reality
- Really cool video games and probably some educational uses.

Augmented Reality
- like VR, but overlayed onto the real world. Applications range from combat systems to advertising.

Graphene
- Apparent wonder material with uses from electronics to water filtration.

Supercavitation
- currently used by some torpedoes - projects an air bubble around the torpedo as it movies to reduce drag. Potentially could be used to make very fast submarines.

Dynamic Armor
- two metal plates with a charge difference between them, when a bullet breaches the armour it bridges the gap and the electrical current produced neutralises the bullet.

SABRE Engine
- Synthetic Air Breathing Rocket Engine - used to build a single stage space-plane.

Reusable Rocketry
- what SpaceX is already doing - currently being used to build Starlink - a constellation of low earth satellites for universal high speed internet.

Artificial Meat -
tastes like meat, but without the environmental footprint.

Vertical Farming -