Religion Spread & Missionaries/Great Prophets

Fried Egg

Prince
I'm fairly new to Civ5 but there's a few questions I have regarding religion.

Firstly, I don't understand how religion spreads generally (of it's own accord). I notice that when you hover over a city, not only can you see the number of followers of each city present but also the pressure that each religion is exerting. What is this "pressure" exactly? Does it reflect the likelyhood that additional followers will appear in that city? Where does this pressure come from, within the city itself or is it an effect of the surrounding cities?

Secondly, the computer players seem to be able to inhibit (through attrition) or even destroy my missionary in their lands but I can't seem to do anything to put the brakes on theirs without causing war. Can anyone explain this?

1. Every religious city exerts pressure on nearby cities, thus increasing the number of followers. The more tightly packed the cities, the faster the religion can propagate. Holy cities (where the religion is founded have an extra pressure). The maximum pressure range can be increased (one belief I think, and also a social policy but I'm not sure on the latter).

eg: 1 city has +6 pressure on surrounding cities; when another one is converted, that changes to +12 for the cities they both reach; if no other city is present, and it is far away from the holy city, pressure is 0.

2. Missionaries (I think also Inquisitors but not Great Prophets) suffer from Attrition, when inside foreign territory, but without open borders. Having a treaty for this eliminates attrition (which is 250 about every turn, so normally the unit is dead in 4 turns). Avoid staying too much or entering altogether. I usually go along the border until I get to a road and then scramble for the touchdown.

Ah yes, I've found some of the religious articles and they were of great help.

Thanks for the replies.

Just a quick and funny question.