1. We have added a Gift Upgrades feature that allows you to gift an account upgrade to another member, just in time for the holiday season. You can see the gift option when going to the Account Upgrades screen, or on any user profile screen.
    Dismiss Notice

RFC Classical World ++

Discussion in 'RFC mod-mod: Classical World' started by Sitalkas, Jul 22, 2019.

  1. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    I haven't tried them yet, but they generally suck really bad in all my games.

    What's the scenario? Are you playing as the Romans and they spawn outside of Rome? Perhaps they should spans near Milan or in Taras, I agree with you.
     
  2. cmakk1012

    cmakk1012 Prince

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    430
    Is the intention for the Bactrians to survive the big Saka spawns, the ones where they get stacks near every Bactrian city?
     
  3. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Yep! And I was happy to see that with their new initial army, they were able to conquer both Samarqand and Taxila!

    Eventually they succumbed to the roaming Kushan barbarians and to the Sakas, and they ended up occupying just a couple of cities in north India.

    Meanwhile, the Sakas had conquered cities in Sindh and north India and the entire game looked pretty historically accurate!
     
    cmakk1012 likes this.
  4. Swarbs

    Swarbs Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,000
    IIRC that Carthaginian stack spawns right outside the last city Rome founded or conquered when they go to war with Carthage for the first time. In theory that's ok as it will be Saguntum in many cases, but in practice it often ends up being somewhere stupid / ahistorical.

    Might be best to just have them spawn in one of the African cities of Carthage, as occurred in real life?
     
  5. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    I will have a look, just need to play a game as the Romans first.

    In other news, I nerfed barbarian activity on every corner of the map. They will spawn less frequently, and in less numbers up until 150 AD approximately.

    I am now boosting some poor areas of the map. It will take my a few more days as I need to to the same process for all 4 scenario maps!

    Once done with that, I will upload v0.1 so you can all try it! Keep in mind, there are a few bugs that I haven't solved yet :p
     
  6. Swarbs

    Swarbs Emperor

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,000
    Maybe just focus on the first scenario for now? Get the map balanced and all bugs ironed out for that one then use it as a base for the other three.

    Otherwise you risk having to redo loads of work if one part of the map ends out unbalanced for whatever reason.
     
  7. calad

    calad Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,379
    Yes!

    The first request: stop AI calling me to wars against civs I dont share border with. Nothing is more absurd that some backward Asian state calling me from Europe to dow another backwater Asian state.

    Also it would be nice to lose diplocontact with states after some time if you dont share border or see them.
     
  8. cmakk1012

    cmakk1012 Prince

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    430
    Ooh, any chance you could “fix” the Companies so that they act like regular Civ4 Companies do, or do you have something else planned with them?
     
  9. calad

    calad Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,379
    Also AI production has always been a huge issue. AI simply wont build enough units, not to mention use them wisely.
     
  10. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    I could focus on the 320BC scenario, but then some people will have to be patient if they want to try the Sassanids or the Byzantines or the Arabs.. Fixing all bugs is not something that can be done so easily. I will need your reports before fixing them!


    I didn't like losing contact in vanilla RFC. And if I implement it again, and add the embassy as a requirement to maintain contact, that means even more turns lost for building embassies instead for units or wealth.

    Declaring war to distant civs has reasons; you can block their trade routes (strangulate their economy), and force a stability check (making them shaky). I always declare war to distant civs when a friendly civ asks me for - the friendly civ will appreciate it, and you can feel safe that the distant civ will not attack you!


    I intend to keep them like srpt has implemented them; merchants roaming from city to city. You can build special buildings that can boost your economy when a trade company is present. Just keep an eye of where each company is settled, and switch production towards that building asap!



    I think that with the new added buildings, things are a bit better. Civs seem to build units. I am gonna need your testing, to see if I need to modify things.
     
  11. calad

    calad Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,379
    I agree that embassies sucks. They were more annoying than useful in a game that had +10 civs. Maybe there could be some other option that could offer balance between a permanent connection and instantly losing it. Like this mod is all about immersion of ancient world and Rome having a connection to some proto-Viatnamise state makes no sense. You know Romans did lose connection with Chinese.

    There are few issues AI asking me to dow some remote civ:
    1. it makes AI go crazy. Instead of protecting its borders they will start sending units into Siberia. Not a great option.
    2. it makes little historically sense. All the wars of this era were wars between neighbours. Romans didnt fight against Bactrians nor Chinese against Indians.
    3. it is gamey as fudge. AI dont know it is being played. If you want to cancel trade you know you could just ask that? Blocking trade works mostly on seatiles, which I see is rather situational.

    Over all I see distant dows more problematic than helpful.

    Nice to see new buildings :thumbsup: I hope they will help with AI production issue. Slaves are also another solution but that needs to be balanced out.
     
  12. cmakk1012

    cmakk1012 Prince

    Joined:
    May 27, 2012
    Messages:
    430
    Oh. Was the functionality fixed in a later version? I never played srpt’s latest revision, just the main “stable” one, where the companies never spread anywhere and vanished if another country took over a city that had them from the start.

    What if you lost contact but it took much longer than in, say, DoC? 100 turns, or something like that?
     
  13. calad

    calad Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,379
    The problem is that system is binary.

    Yes/No.

    It can be 1 turn or 100 turns. Losing contact still is annoying. Ideally the solution would be that you need to keep contact active, either a military unit neat border (which is the current system and it is not ideal) or keep sending caravans simulating long-term trade.
     
    cmakk1012 likes this.
  14. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Trade routes in RFCCW are established if you have LoS with a civ. It doesn't matter if there is no road, or if another civ lies between you and the trading partner. As long as you have LoS, a trade route will be established. Now, if the intermediate civ is at war with one of the other two civs, the LoS is lost and you cannot have the trade routes established!

    This is why I am saying that declaring war on distant civs is not as weird as you think You actually destroy their LoS with their trading partners and strangulate them financially. Good civs for strangulating others are the Seleucids, Parthians, Bactrians, Tocharians, and the Kushans. Basically, those who control the silk road.


    I am still working on the map modification.

    New national wonder added!
    The summer palace.
    Basically its palace no.2, it offers a good stability bonus and a good financial bonus. Unlocked with the Code of Laws technology.
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2019
  15. calad

    calad Emperor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2012
    Messages:
    1,379
    I am not sure I follow. I dont even know what LoS means. And you didn't address issue of AI sending their units into some remote corner.

    About summer palace, wasn't there already a a wonder that reduces the maintenance cost?
     
  16. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    LoS = line of sight. As long as there is no psysical object (mountain range, ocean) or an enemy blocking your line of sight with a civ, you can trade with them.

    The AI sends their units to roam because they need to explore the map, just like the player.

    I don't remember seeing such a wonder. Maybe there is Confucianism specific one, but I haven't checked the Asian civs yet.
     
  17. JHLee

    JHLee Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    469
    How do I download RFC CW+?

    EDIT: Oh I guess it hasn't been released yet. Looking forward to it!
     
  18. Sitalkas

    Sitalkas Prince

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2012
    Messages:
    522
    Gender:
    Male
    Location:
    Athens
    Shortly! I believe within the weekend the first version is going to be ready!

    I apologize for the dead months, I was on vacations on August and then I started playing WoW classic so you know, no time to develop something!
     
    JHLee and cmakk1012 like this.
  19. faremoutgames

    faremoutgames Chieftain

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    57
    Location:
    Montpellier, France
    Hello,

    I am very happy that someone decided to contnue this mod project ^^ RCF Classical world is my prefered mod on Civ IV !
    If I can do an only suggestion, true settlers maps are really needed (I didn't found them in the files and I think they doesn't exist). Indeed, AI civilizations ALWAYS found the same cities in the same plot (for exemple Dertosa for Romans, Kokand for Tocharian, Jinpyeong for Gojoseon), so all game are too similar. AI civilizations like Celts for example don't found cities in interesting plots like western and eastern Gauls, or Brittany, and this is very sad, comparing to others RFC mods.

    Plus as someone said, stability feature should be reworked, with no gold age, it is imposible to keep high stability with an empire bigger than a few cities. And the mechanism is very obscure, unlike other RFC mod (like RFC Europe or RFC Sword of Islam) where the mechanism are explained and it is possible to reach very high level of stability even with a big empire in this mod !!
    It should be possible to exploit others RFC modmod codes
     
  20. JHLee

    JHLee Prince

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2013
    Messages:
    469
    All civics should be reworked IMO. Especially economy. It's impossible to maintain a stable economy. Nobody opens borders with hardly anyone so caravans have nowhere to go (and I don't think AIs know how to use them- they just move them around randomly as if they are scouts), improvements take a million turns to be built and a single turn to be pillaged by a barbarian unit that appeared out of thin air. Trade routes are limited, cottages are limited. I don't even bother to build work boats because it would get destroyed by pirates anyway and I don't want to spend limited hammers on a navy that does not have a clear upper hand against barbarians.
     

Share This Page